Tour De Yorkshire: Sir Bradley Wiggins heads list of star names lined up for Tour

WORLD and Olympic champions, record holders and winners of top stage and one-day races will feature in the second Tour de Yorkshire, which begins in 13 days' time.
Sir Bradley Wiggins. Picture: Simon Hulme.Sir Bradley Wiggins. Picture: Simon Hulme.
Sir Bradley Wiggins. Picture: Simon Hulme.

Sir Bradley Wiggins heads an impressive provisional start list, including 38 riders who have taken part in the Tour de France and 25 veterans of all three Grand Tours.

Britain’s first Tour de France champion is among six stage winners of that event listed to ride in Yorkshire, alongside former hour record holder Rohan Dennis, Thomas Voeckler, Stephen Cummings, Marcus Burghardt and Pieter Weening.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Wiggins and Dennis are both former world champions and the field also features Mathew Hayman, who won the Paris-Roubaix one-day classic earlier this month and former Milan San Remo champion Matt Goss.

Lars Petter Nordhaug will attempt to defend his title riding for Team Sky, whose line-up also includes British road champion Pete Kennaugh.

The men’s race will feature 10 Yorkshire riders with Frazer Clacherty, Gabriel Cullaigh, Oliver Wood, Russ Downing, Graham Briggs, Tom Moses, Tom Stewart, Liam Holohan, Josh Edmondson and Pete Williams all set to start.

Otley’s world champion Lizzie Armitstead is the star attraction in the Asda women’s Tour de Yorkshire, from her home town to Doncaster on April 30. Also racing are some of the top female riders including British Olympian Danielle King, 2015 winner Louise Mahe and Dame Sarah Storey OBE.

The opening stage of the men’s race is from Beverley to Settle. They will follow the same route as the women on stage two, before a final showdown from Middlesbrough to Scarborough on Sunday, May 1.