Leeds Rhinos: Strong squad named for clash with Hull FC in Tom Briscoe testimonial game

Boss Richard Agar has named a close to full-strength squad for Leeds Rhinos' final first team pre-season game at home to Hull FC on Sunday.

By Peter Smith
Friday, 28th January 2022, 5:58 pm

As revealed by the Yorkshire Evening Post on Thursday, Tongan international winger David Fusitu'a will make his first appearance for Leeds following his off-season move from New Zealand Warriors.

Prop Matt Prior, who was rested for Rhinos’ three previous warm-up fixtures, is also included in a 22-man squad which will be captained by Kruise Leeming.

Forwards Tom Holroyd (ankle) and Sam Walters (shoulder) are the only full-time players ruled out because of injury.

Captain Matt Prior will make his only pre-season appearance when Rhinos face Hull on Sunday. Picture by Bruce Rollinson.

Full-back Jack Walker and centre Liam Sutcliffe will both play after making their comeback from long-term injury against Bradford Bulls last week.

Sunday’s game is a testimonial for Rhinos’ former Hull back Tom Briscoe.

The visitors will be captained by Luke Gale in his first return to Headingley since joining them from Leeds in November.

Fellow signings Darnell McIntosh and Joe Lovodua are also included in a 20-man squad, which includes several academy and reserve grade players.

Ex-Leeds skipper Luke Gale will captain Hull on his return to Headingley.

Scrums will be used for the first time since being suspended because of the coronavirus pandemic two years ago.

Read More

Read More
Leeds Rhinos coach Richard Agar hails 'exemplary professional' Tom Briscoe ahead...

The RFL have also confirmed a crackdown on foul play.

This season, any punch, kick or butt making contact with the head will be deemed a sending-off offence.

Such incidents will be graded D by the match review panel, resulting in a ban of three-five matches.

Rhinos’ squad is: J Walker, Fusitua, Newman, Sutcliffe, Handley, Austin, Sezer, Oledzki, Leeming, Prior, Bentley, Martin, Tetevano, Dwyer, Mellor, Myler, Smith, Thompson, Briscoe, Gannon, O’Connor, Donaldson.

Hull: Connor, Swift, Tuimavave, McIntosh, Gale, Houghton, Lane, Lovodua, Fash, McNamara, Brown, Johnstone, Scott, M Walker, Burrell, Litten, Severs, Barron, Rutland, Stewart.

Referee: Robert Hicks (Oldham).

Kick-off: Sunday, 3pm.

Support the YEP and become a subscriber today. You'll enjoy unlimited access to the latest on Leeds United, Leeds Rhinos, Castleford Tigers and Wakefield Trinity, as well as other West Yorkshire rugby league clubs. With our sports digital subscription, you'll also see fewer ads, enjoy faster load times and get exclusive content. Click here to subscribe.