Latest Super-8s team news from Wakefield and Castleford

At least one academy product will make his Super League debut when Wakefield Trinity Wildcats visit Wigan Warriors on Friday.
Danny Kirmond.Danny Kirmond.
Danny Kirmond.

But Castleford Tigers will get several key players back from injury for their trip to table-toppers Hull, who are set to be unchanged from last week’s Challenge Cup semi-final triumph.

Danny Kirmond (knee) and Ben Jones-Bishop (shoulder) will both miss Wakefield’s trip to DW Stadium after returning carrying injuries into last Saturday’s Cup semi-final defeat by Warrington Wolves.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Judah Mazive, Frazer Morris and Liam Senior - who have all come through Trinity’s academy system - are included in the initial 19-man squad and Bill Tupou could return after injury.

Josh Charnley and Frank-Paul Nuuausala are back in contention for Wigan following suspension and Jake Shorrocks is also vying for a call-up. Joe Bretherton drops out from their semi-final team.

Scott Mikalauskas will be making his first appearance as a Super League referee.

Meanwhile, Hull coach Lee Radford has named an unchanged 19 from the Cup win over Wigan for Friday’s Super-8s opener against Tigers.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Jordan Abdull and Josh Bowden are the players who missed out last week.

Super League’s top try scorer Denny Solomona could be back for Castleford after missing the derby win at Wakefield two weeks ago due to food poisoning.

Luke Dorn (calf) and Rangi Chase (back) are also in contention, along with Lee Jewitt.

Paddy Flynn and Tom Holmes, who has undergone shoulder surgery, drop out.

The 19-man squads are:

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Wigan: Bateman, Charnley, Crosby, Flower, Gildart, Isa, Manfredi, Mossop, Nuuausala, O’Loughlin, Powell, Sarginson, Shorrocks, Smith, Sutton, Tautai, Tierney, S Tomkins, Williams.

Wakefield: Arona, Arundel, Crowther, Fifita, Finn, Hall, Jowitt, Lyne, Mazive, Miller, Moore, Morris, Scruton, Senior, Sio, A Tupou, B Tupou, Walton, Yates.

Hull: Shaul, Michaels, Fonua, Yeaman, Talanoa, Tuimavave, Sneyd, Taylor, Houghton, Watts, Manu, Minichiello, Ellis, Thompson, Pritchard, Washbrook, Green, Abdull, Bowden.

Castleford: Chase, Crooks, Cook, Dorn, Gale, Hampshire, O Holmes, Jewitt, Maher, Mariano, McShane, Millington, Milner, Minikin, Moors, Patrick, Savelio, Solomona, Springer.