Peacock honoured by 11th and final Dream Team selection

LEEDS RHINOS’ Jamie Peacock has been named in Super League’s Dream Team for a record-extending 11th and final time.
Zak Hardaker and 
Jamie Peacock.Zak Hardaker and 
Jamie Peacock.
Zak Hardaker and Jamie Peacock.

The former England captain, who is retiring at the end of the season, was first chosen in the mythical form team of the season in 2000 when he was a 22-year-old second rower with Bradford.

Now 37, the evergreen Leeds favourite has been selected in the front row for the third year in a row.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

“It’s an honour to be in there again,” Peacock said. “There’s some really strong candidates in my position this year.

“Certainly (Castleford props) Andy Lynch and Grant Millington and (Warrington’s) Chris Hill have been fantastic.

“I’ve tried to play consistently well this year. My aim was to play well in the games that matter, which are the knockout games and the Challenge Cup, and I think I’ve delivered on that.

“Also to play well against the best teams and I think my performances in those games have been as good as they ever have. I’ve enjoyed this year.”

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

and is joined by three of his Rhinos team-mates who have completed two-thirds of a potential treble by landing the Challenge Cup and League Leaders’ Shield.

One of them, Australian forward Adam Cuthbertson, is one of seven newcomers, while Zak Hardaker and Kallum Watkins are among four players to keep their places from the 2014 team.

The new faces also include Huddersfield winger Jermaine McGillvary, who finished the season as Super League’s top tryscorer with 27 touchdowns, including 13 in the Super 8s as the Giants clinched a place in this week’s semi-finals.

Hardaker, Cuthbertson and St Helens prop Alex Walmsley are also in line for the major individual prize after being short-listed for the Man of Steel award which will be announced next Monday in the build-up to the 2015 Super League Grand Final at Old Trafford.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The spread of clubs represented in the team, which is selected by a panel of journalists and broadcasters, reflects the close nature of the 2015 competition which went down to the very last second when Ryan Hall’s 200th try for Leeds in Friday’s epic clash with Huddersfield helped them secure top spot on points difference ahead of Wigan.

The 2015 First Utility Super League Dream Team team is: Z Hardaker (Leeds); J McGillvary (Huddersfield), K Watkins (Leeds), M Shenton (Castleford), J Burgess (Wigan); D Brough (Huddersfield), L Gale (Castleford); J Peacock (Leeds), J Roby (St Helens), A Walmsley (St Helens), Z Taia (Catalans Dragons), L Farrell (Wigan), A Cuthbertson (Leeds).