Leeds Rhinos v Leigh Centurions: Rob Lui, Callum McLelland and Liam Sutcliffe in contention but Richie Myler misses out

Long-term casualties Rob Lui and Callum McLelland have been named in Leeds Rhinos’ initial 21-man squad for Thursday’s visit of Leigh Centurions, but full-back Richie Myler will miss the game.

By Peter Smith
Tuesday, 29th June 2021, 1:04 pm

Lui suffered a quad muscle injury in pre-season and McLelland has not played since November 1 last year because of ankle and groin problems.

Both have been named in Rhinos’ 21 for the first time this season, along with youngsters Liam Tindall and Levi Edwards.

Tindall, a 19-year-old winger, made his senior debut last year, but 17-year-old centre or second-rower Edwards has yet to play in the first team.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Rob Lui has been named in Rhinos' 21-man squad for the first time this season. Picture by Jonathan Gawthorpe.

Liam Sutcliffe is poised to return from coronavirus, but fellow sufferer Zane Tetevano remains sidelined.

Myler suffered a dislocated finger against Salford Red Devils last Sunday, captain/half-back Luke Gale and forward Bodene Thompson are both suspended following incidents in that game and Konrad Hurrell, who failed a head injury assessment, also drops out.

Alex Mellor has been named in Rhinos’ 21 pending an appeal today (Tuesday) against a one-match penalty notice for making physical contact with the referee.

Sam Walters, Jarrod O’Connor and Corey Hall all retain their place in the squad, after not playing against Salford.

Leigh’s caretaker coach Kurt Haggerty has named a 20-man squad.

Keanan Brand, Adam Sidlow and Alex Gerrard are included following long-term injuries, but Tyrone McCarthy and Ben Reynolds drop out after being hurt against Warrington Wolves last week.

Rhinos’ 21-man squad is: Tom Briscoe, Rob Lui Mikolaj Oledzki, Kruise Leeming, Matt Prior, Alex Mellor, Rhyse Martin, Brad Dwyer, Liam Sutcliffe, Tom Holroyd, King Vuniuyayawa, Sam Walters, Callum Mclelland, Luke Briscoe, James Donaldson, Jarrod O’Connor, Jack Broadbent, Corey Hall, Liam Tindall, Levi Edwards, Morgan Gannon.

Leigh’s 20-man squad is: Ryan Brierley, Matty Russell, Iain Thornley, Junior Sa’u, Lewis Tierney, Joe Mellor, Liam Hood, Mark Ioane, Ben Hellewell, Jordan Thompson, James Bell, Matty Wildie, Alex Gerrard, Nathaniel Peteru, Matty Gee, Nathan Mason, Adam Sidlow, Craig Mullen, Keanan Brand, Nathan Peats

Support the YEP and become a subscriber today. Enjoy unlimited access to local news and the latest on Leeds United, With a digital subscription, you see fewer ads, enjoy faster load times, and get access to exclusive newsletters and content. Click here to subscribe.