Leeds Rhinos announce 2021 squad numbers - Oledzki moves up as place is left open for possible recruit

A place has been left vacant for a potential signing in Leeds Rhinos’ elite 20-man squad for the forthcoming season.

Tuesday, 5th January 2021, 4:00 pm
Mikolaj Oledzki in his new number eight kit at pre-season training. Picture by Phil Daly.

Rhinos have confirmed their 2021 squad numbers with Mikolaj Oledzki, Cameron Smith and Tom Holroyd all moving up the pecking order.

Number 19 has not been allocated, but Oledzki will wear number eight, loose-forward Smith moves up from 22 to 17 and prop Tom Holroyd is elevated from 28 to 18.

New signing Zane Tetevano takes the iconic number 13 shirt, Yorkshire Evening Post Shooting Star Alex Sutcliffe rises from 26 to 21 and Sam Walters is 22, after wearing 27 last year. Jarrod O’Connor (26), Jack Broadbent (27), Corey Hall (28) and Liam Tindall (29) all move up after having a number in the 30s last year and teenagers Levi Edwards (30) and Morgan Gannon (31) are promoted into the full-time squad.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Leeds named a 34-man squad in pre-season last year and director of rugby Kevin Sinfield said: “We are running with a slightly smaller squad.

“A combination of Covid and lack of reserves and uncertainty over dual-registration and loans has dictated some of that. Players want to play and you can’t have a 36-man squad and not have anywhere for the majority of them to play.”

Of the vacancy, Sinfield added: “We are on with it. We are really happy with Tetevano and the make up of our squad with the young fellas and the experienced blokes we’ve got, but there is a squad number available in the top-20.”

Rhinos’ 2021 squad numbers: 1 Jack Walker, 2 Tom Briscoe, 3 Harry Newman, 4 Konrad Hurrell, 5 Ash Handley, 6 Rob Lui, 7 Luke Gale, 8 Mikolaj Oledzki (last year Ava Seumanufagai), 9 Kruise Leeming, 10 Matt Prior, 11 Alex Mellor, 12 Rhyse Martin, 13 Zane Tetevano (Stevie Ward) 14 Brad Dwyer, 15 Liam Sutcliffe, 16 Richie Myler, 17 Cameron Smith (Adam Cuthbertson), 18 Tom Holroyd (Dom Crosby), 19 Vacant (Oledzki), 20 Bodene Thompson,

21 Alex Sutcliffe (Rhys Evans), 22 Sam Walters (Smith), 23 Callum McLelland, 24 Luke Briscoe, 25 James Donaldson, 26 Jarrod O’Connor (A Sutcliffe),

27 Jack Broadbent (Walters), 28 Corey Hall (Holroyd), 29 Liam Tindall (Corey Johnson), 30 Levi Edwards (Muizz Mustapha), 31 Morgan Gannon (Dan Waite-Pullan).

Support the YEP and become a subscriber today. Enjoy unlimited access to local news and the latest on Leeds United, With a digital subscription, you see fewer ads, enjoy faster load times, and get access to exclusive newsletters and content. Click here to subscribe.