Hull KR v Leeds Rhinos: All the latest team news

BY RECENT standards, coach Richard Agar will be spoiled for choice when he selects Leeds Rhinos’ side to take on Hull KR today.

Friday, 23rd April 2021, 5:55 am
Richie Myler touches down for Leeds Rhinos in their last encounter with Hull KR back in September. Picture: Ed Sykes/

Five of the 12 players who were unavailable for the loss to Wigan Warriors eight days ago have been named in Rhinos’ initial 21.

The likely return of centre Konrad Hurrell – for his first game of the season – and full-back/half-back Richie Myler who could make his 250th Super League appearance, will allow forwards Alex Mellor and Rhyse Martin to switch back into the pack.

Last year’s Betfred Super League leading try scorer Ash Handley has recovered from a pre-season knee injury and could return on one wing and Bodene Thompson and King Vuniyayawa are available to strengthen the pack or bench.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Leeds Rhinos' Konrad Hurrell is fit to face Hull KR tonight. Picture: Allan McKenzie/

Corey Hall, an unused substitute, drops out from last week’s team.

Players still ruled out are Jack Walker (foot), Harry Newman (broken leg), Rob Lui (quad muscle), Luke Gale (broken thumb), Liam Sutcliffe (knee), Tom Holroyd (fractured leg) and Callum McLelland (groin), plus Zane Tetevano who will serve the second of a four-game ban.

Rovers’ 21 includes Muizz Mustapha who is on a season-long loan from Rhinos, as well as ex-Leeds men Ryan Hall and Jimmy Keinhorst.

They are without suspended half-back Mikey Lewis and prop Korbin Sims – due to a concussion he picked up against Huddersfield – but Brad Takairangi will make his debut after recovering from an injury suffered against Castleford Tigers in pre-season.

Meanwhile, Rowan Milnes, Matty Storton, Greg Minikin, Will Dagger and Jimmy Keinhorst are vying for a recall.

Hull KR (from): Quinlan, Crooks, Minikin, Kenny-Dowall, Hall, Abdull, Vete, Parcell, Takairangi, Linnett, Hadley, Litten, Lawler, King, Storton, Dagger, Ryan, Milnes, Johnson, Mustapha, Keinhorst.

Leeds Rhinos (from): T Briscoe, Hurrell, Handley, Oledzki, Leeming, Prior, Mellor, Martin,Dwyer, Myler, Smith, Vuniyayawa, Thompson, A Sutcliffe, Walters, L Briscoe, Donaldson, O’Connor, Broadbent, Gannon, Eastmond.

Referee: Marcus Griffiths (Widnes).

Kick-off: Today, 6pm.

Support the YEP and become a subscriber today. Enjoy unlimited access to local news and the latest on Leeds United, With a digital subscription, you see fewer ads, enjoy faster load times, and get access to exclusive newsletters and content. Click HERE to subscribe.