Huddersfield Giants v Leeds Rhinos - Liam and Alex Sutcliffe both included as squads are named

The return of Liam Sutcliffe will give Leeds Rhinos an extra option in their backline at Huddersfield Giants on Sunday.

Friday, 30th April 2021, 12:39 pm

Sutcliffe has been sidelined for four matches with a knee problem, but is included in coach Richard Agar’s initial 21-man squad for the trip to John Smith’s Stadium.

He is the only player in contention to return from the casualty list, though centre Alex Sutcliffe - who suffered a leg injury at Hull KR last week and is rated a major doubt - has been named in the provisional squad.

Rhinos are without Richie Myler after he picked up a two-game ban for dissent against Hull KR so Liam Sutcliffe is likely to take over in the halves.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Liam Sutcliffe has not played since the defeat by Castleford almost a month ago, but is in Rhinos' squad for Sunday's game at Huddersfield. Picture by Jonathan Gawthorpe.

Young forwards Sam Walters, Jarrod O’Connor and Morgan Gannon, who were all left out of the game in East Yorkshire, are included in the initial squad, along with teenage centre Corey Hall.

Other players definitely ruled out are Jack Walker (foot), Harry Newman (broken leg), Rob Lui (quad muscle), Luke Gale (broken thumb) Cameron Smith (hamstring), Tom Holroyd (fractured leg) and Callum McLelland (groin), along with Zane Tetevano who will serve the third of a four-match ban.

Giants coach Ian Watson will select from the 17 beraten by St Helens last week, plus Ricky Leutele, Joe Greenwood, Leroy Cudjoe and Oliver Russell.

Huddersfield Giants: from McGillvary, Leutele, McIntosh, Gaskell, Sezer, Yates, O’Brien, Lawrence, Edwards, Jones, English, Greenwood, Cogger, McQueen, Ashworth, Cunningham, Wilson, Cudjoe, Gavet, Russell, Wood.

Leeds Rhinos: from T Briscoe, Hurrell, Handley, Oledzki, Leeming, Prior, Mellor, Martin, Dwyer, L Sutcliffe, Vuniyayawa, Thompson, A Sutcliffe, Walters, L Briscoe, Donaldson, O’Connor, Broadbent, Hall, Gannon, Eastmond.

Referee: Liam Moore (Wigan).

Kick-off: Sunday, 3pm.

Support the YEP and become a subscriber today. Enjoy unlimited access to local news and the latest on Leeds United, With a digital subscription, you see fewer ads, enjoy faster load times, and get access to exclusive newsletters and content. Click here to subscribe.