England coach Shaun Wane names latest squad - Harry Newman among three Leeds Rhinos players, Castleford Tigers, Wakefield Trinity, Hull and Huddersfield Giants also represented

Rhinos centre Harry Newman is the youngest player in a 35-man squad named by England coach Shaun Wane for a training session in Leeds next week.

By Peter Smith
Tuesday, 6th April 2021, 9:17 am
England coach Shaun Wane. Picture by Paul Currie/SWpix.com.
England coach Shaun Wane. Picture by Paul Currie/SWpix.com.

Rhinos centre Harry Newman is the youngest player in a 35-man squad named by England coach Shaun Wane for a training session in Leeds next week.

The session, at Leeds Beckett University next Tuesday, April 13, will be Wane’s first physical session with his players since his appointment more than 12 months ago.

Newman, 21, is one of three Leeds players in the squad, which was announced this morning (Tuesday), exactly 200 days before England kick off their World Cup campaign against Samoa at St James’s Park, Newcastle.

Leeds' Harry Newman, 21, is the youngest player in the England squad. Picture by Jonathan Gawthorpe.

The others are winger Ash Handley and scrum-half Luke Gale.

New signing Niall Evalds and Man of Steel Paul McShane are Castleford Tigers' representatives and Wakefield Trinity winger Tom Johnstone is also included.

Other Yorkshire-based players are Josh Griffin, of Hull and Huddersfield Giants' Jermaine McGillvary.

Newman has not played since breaking a leg last September, but Wane insisted: “I rate Harry very highly, he has a good chance of playing in the World Cup.

"We’ve got real strength in depth at centre – and at hooker and wing too."

Seven NRL-based players are included in the squad.

They will not be at the Leeds Beckett session, but will have regular contact with the England coaching team.

Salford Red Devils’ former Rhinos centre Kallum Watkins, is among the 35, four years after earning the latest of his 25 international caps.

St Helens skipper James Roby, 35, is the oldest player in the squad and is one of five Saints players.

Wigan Warriors also supply five players, while Warrington Wolves have the most representatives with six.

“Names will come and go as the season unfolds, but the 35 players I’ve named reflect my current thinking," Wane said.

"They are all capable of playing to an England standard. They know what’s expected at international level and the heights they must hit.

“We have a good mix of youth and experience, and age is no barrier.

"The thirty-somethings in the squad are playing some good rugby and if a 17-year-old puts his hand up and shows me he’s got what it takes, he’ll be in."

Wane added: “I watch every Super League game, every week, multiple times and I’m seeing some good things so far from England players.

"I keep a very close eye on the NRL too - those players can’t join us at Leeds Beckett, but I’ll make sure they get the same information as the players who can.

“The session at Leeds is all about introducing players to my systems – how we’ll defend, how we’ll attack and so on.

"They are some of the best players around and they’ll get it very quickly.

"It’s an important part of our preparation for the mid-season international against the All Stars and for the World Cup too.”

England play Combined Nations All Stars at Warrington’s HJ Stadium on Friday, June 25.

The squad in full is: John Bateman (Wigan Warriors), Tom Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Daryl Clark, Mike Cooper, Ben Currie (all Warrington Wolves), Niall Evalds (Castleford Tigers), Herbie Farnworth (Brisbane Broncos), Liam Farrell (Wigan Warriors), Luke Gale (Leeds Rhinos), Oliver Gildart (Wigan Warriors), Josh Griffin (Hull FC), Ash Handley (Leeds Rhinos), Zak Hardaker (Wigan Warriors), Josh Hodgson (Canberra Raiders), Tom Johnstone (Wakefield Trinity), Toby King (Warrington Wolves), Morgan Knowles, Jonny Lomax (both St Helens), Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants), Paul McShane (Castleford Tigers), Tommy Makinson (St Helens), Dom Manfredi (Wigan Warriors), Harry Newman (Leeds Rhinos), Mark Percival (St Helens), Joe Philbin, Stefan Ratchford (both Warrington Wolves), James Roby (St Helens), Dan Sarginson (Salford Red Devils), Ryan Sutton (Canberra Raiders), Luke Thompson (Canterbury Bulldogs), Sam Tomkins (Catalans Dragons), Alex Walmsley (St Helens), Kallum Watkins (Salford Red Devils), Elliott Whitehead, George Williams (both Canberra Raiders).