PREVIEW: World Snooker Tour’s Cazoo UK Championship returns to Yorkshire

Current champ Neil Robertson will be defending his titleCurrent champ Neil Robertson will be defending his title
Current champ Neil Robertson will be defending his title
World Snooker Tour’s top stars including crowd favourite Ronnie O’Sullivan are cue-ing up to pocket the Cazoo UK Championship back in Yorkshire.

It returns to York Barbican – November 23 to December 5 – after being played behind closed doors in Milton Keynes last year, due to the Covid19 pandemic.

Also on the bill is current champ Neil Robertson, last year’s runner up Judd Trump, along with snooker superstars including John Higgins, Mark Williams, Shaun Murphy, Kyren Wilson, Ding Junhui and Mark Allen.

Legends Jimmy White and Stephen Hendry, plus top female players Reanne Evans, Ng On Yee and more are playing.

BUY TICKETS: For ticket details visit Get tickets direct from the Barbican at or from at For concession details, seating plans and more visit

WATCH LIVE: The opening round, from November 23 to 25, will be televised live by Eurosport, with the second round onwards covered by the BBC, Eurosport, CCTV, Matchroom Live and a range of other broadcasters.

This year marks the 45th running of the Cazoo UK Championship, a tournament steeped in history.

All 128 players will be looking to win their next seven matches to capture a title which was first contested in 1977.

Neil Robertson beat Judd Trump 10-9 in a dramatic final last year to capture the trophy for the third time. He meets amateur Astley on Thursday November 25 at 2.30pm.

Trump will be up against David Lilley on the same day, at 7.30pm.

Ronnie O’Sullivan takes on two-time ranking event winner Michael White on Wednesday November 24 at 7.30pm. World Champion Mark Selby plays Ross Muir on the same day at 2.30pm.

The second round begins on Saturday, November 27. All matches are best of 11 frames up until the final on Sunday, December 5, which is best of 19.

The Cazoo UK Championship is one of snooker’s Triple Crown events, alongside the Cazoo Masters and the Betfred World Championship.

There have been countless moments of drama since Patsy Fagan won the inaugural event way back in 1977 and recent editions of the tournament have provided more than their fair share of thrills.

To bring you up to date with the most recent happenings in the rich history of the UK Championship, here is a flashback to the previous five finals – CLICK HERE.