Leeds United have more players in Spain Euros squad than Real Madrid but Whites star man still misses out

Leeds United centre-half Diego Llorente has been named by Luis Enrique in the Spain squad for the Euros, but Rodrigo has missed out.

Monday, 24th May 2021, 12:45 pm
EUROS BOUND - Diego Llorente has been named in the Spain squad for the Euros but Leeds United team-mate Rodrigo has missed out. Pic: Getty

Llorente is one of eight defenders in Enrique's squad, with Sergio Ramos a high-profile absentee.

The Whites defender, who moved to Elland Road from Real Sociedad last summer, had a difficult season due to injuries but once he recovered his fitness he became a mainstay of Marcelo Bielsa's side, starting 13 straight games. Bielsa withdrew him at half-time during the penultimate game of the season as a precaution and gave him the weekend off.

For Rodrigo this morning's squad announcement will be a bitter blow but not an entirely unexpected one. Leeds' record signing has also endured a less-than-ideal first season at Elland Road, thanks to Covid-19, injuries and a struggle to recover his best condition.

Sign up to our Leeds United newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The 30-year-old started 14 games across the season and came on as a substitute a dozen times. He was unable to showcase his best form at times but did finish the season on a high with four goals and an assist in the final four games, repaying the faith Bielsa has shown in him.

Leeds' head coach has always insisted that his forward would be able to show the best of himself before the season was out and has marked him out as a vital player for the club.

Rodrigo's late-season burst of form came a little too late evidently, however.

The big talking point from Enrique's squad announcement was the complete absence of any Real Madrid players.

Spain: David de Gea, Robert Sanchez, Unai Simon, Aymeric Laporte, Jose Gaya, Jordi Alba, Pau Torres, Eric Garcia, Diego Llorente Cesar Azpilicueta, Marcos Llorente, Sergio Busquets, Rodri, Pedri, Thiago, Koke, Fabian, Dani Olmo, Mikel Oyarzabal, Gerard Moreno, Alvaro Morata, Ferran Torres, Adama Traore, Pablo Sarabia.