A stretch of the M62 near Leeds will be closed this weekend as part of a safety project

A stretch of the M62 will be closed on Saturday (23) as part of a six-month project which will improve safety for drivers.

Thursday, 21st November 2019, 10:44 am
Updated Thursday, 21st November 2019, 12:33 pm

The current steel barrier in the central reservation is being upgraded to concrete between junctions 33 and 34 close to Ferrybridge and Eggborough.

The scheme started in June and will finish next month.

To complete the work, a series of overnight closures are needed to remove the traffic restrictions that were put in place.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Traffic on the M62.

To reduce disruption, the carriageway will only be closed in one direction and fully signed diversions will be in place throughout the closure

The road will be closed between junction 33 and 34 eastbound on Saturday November 23 from 8pm until 7am.

The same closure will be in place eastbound on Wednesday December 4, Thursday December 5, Friday December 6 and Monday December 9.

The road will be closed westbound on Monday December 2, Tuesday December 3, Tuesday December 10, Wednesday December 11 and Thursday December 12.

A 50mph speed limit will remain in place between junction 33 and junction 34 throughout the project, with average speed safety cameras in operation.