This is how the political map of Leeds would be redrawn under the Boundary Commission proposals

Political constituencies across Leeds could be redrawn under new proposals.

Wednesday, 23rd June 2021, 6:46 pm

The Boundary Commission for England has published its initial proposals to redraw constituencies across the country, to ensure that they are more equally balanced in terms of voter numbers.

It would see major changes to the parliamentary map, with England set to gain 10 additional seats at the expense of Wales which is due to lose eight, and Scotland, which will be down two.

Of the 533 existing English constituencies, fewer than 10 per cent will remain unchanged under the proposals.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The Leeds skyline.

By law, the commission is required to draw up seats with 69,724 to 77,062 electors – a condition which it said meant that widespread change was “inevitable”.

What's happening in Leeds?

In North Yorkshire and West Yorkshire, the Boundary Commission has proposed two constituencies that cross county boundaries.

The Selby County Constituency combines a single local council ward (Kippax and Methley) from the City of Leeds with District of Selby wards, including the town of Selby.

A map showing how the boundaries could change.

Wetherby and Easingwold County Constituency would contain electors from Harewood and Wetherby, along with electors from the Borough of Harrogate, and districts of Selby and Hambleton.

The Leeds City Council ward of Gipton and Harehills is to be split between the Leeds Central Borough Constituency and Leeds East County Constituency

Listed below are the proposed new constituencies and the local council wards they would contain:

Leeds Central Borough Constituency (proposed new electorate 72,573)

Council wards to be included:

Beeston and Holbeck

Burmantofts and Richmond Hill

Part of Gipton and Harehills

Hunslet and Riverside

Little London and Woodhouse

Morley Borough Constituency (proposed new electorate 72,457)

Council wards to be included:

Ardsley and Robin Hood

Middleton Park

Morley North

Morley South

Wakefield Borough Constituency (proposed new electorate 73,968)

Council wards to be included:


Stanley and Outwood East

Wakefield East

Wakefield North

Wrenthorpe and Outwood West

Leeds East County Constituency (new electorate 75,909)

Council wards to be included:

Cross Gates and Whinmoor

Garforth and Swillington

Part of Gipton and Harehills

Killingbeck and Seacroft

Temple Newsam

Leeds North East Borough Constituency (proposed new electorate 70,976)

Council wards to be included:


Chapel Allerton



Headingley Borough Constituency (proposed new electorate 73,935)

Council wards to be included:


Headingley and Hyde Park



Leeds North West County Constituency (proposed new electorate 71,607)

Council wards to be included:

Adel and Wharfedale

Guiseley and Rawdon


Otley and Yeadon

Pudsey Borough Constituency (proposed new electorate 72,224)

Bramely and Stanningley

Calvlerley and Farsley

Farnley and Wortley


Wetherby and Easingwold County Constituency (proposed new electorate 74,405)

Appleton Roebuck and Church Fenton

Bishop Monkton and Newby






Marston Moor


Raskelf and White Horse

Spofforth with Lower Wharfedale



Selby County Constituency (proposed new electorate 74,761)

Barlby Village


Byram and Brotherton

Camblesforth and Carlton

Cawood and Wistow





Kippax and Methley

Monk Fryston


Selby East

Selby West

Sherburn in Elmet

South Milford

Thorpe Willoughby