These Yorkshire MPs voted against extending free school meals over the holidays

England football star Marcus Rashford’s bid to extend free school meals over the holidays was dealt a blow after MPs voted against the measure yesterday (Wednesday).
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

The Manchester United forward urged politicians to “unite” to protect the most vulnerable children and vowed to continue campaigning, writing on Twitter: “For as long as they don’t have a voice, they will have mine.”

He released a statement after Labour’s motion, which called for the scheme to be extended over school holidays until Easter 2021, was defeated by 261 votes to 322 – majority 61.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Downing Street ruled out performing a late U-turn ahead of the vote, with Boris Johnson also telling Prime Minister’s Questions: “We support kids on low incomes in school and we will continue to do so.

Marcus Rashford (photo: Shutterstock).Marcus Rashford (photo: Shutterstock).
Marcus Rashford (photo: Shutterstock).

“But the most important thing is to keep them in school and not tear off into another national lockdown taking them out of school.

“We will continue to use the benefits system and all the systems of income to support children throughout the holidays as well.”

All of Yorkshire's Labour MPs voted for the motion.

Two Conservative MPs rebelled against their party and voted in favour - Colne Valley MP Jason McCartney and new Scunthorpe MP Holly Mumby-Croft.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Below is the full list of MPs that voted against the proposal:

Craig Whittaker (Calder Valley - Conservative)

Martin Vickers (Cleethorpes - Conservative)

Mark Eastwood (Dewsbury - Conservative)

Nick Fletcher (Don Valley - Conservative)

Greg Knight (East Yorkshire - Conservative)

Alec Shelbrooke (Elmet and Rothwell - Conservative)

David Davis (Haltemprice and Howden - Conservative)

Andrew Jones (Harrogate and Knaresborough - Conservative)

Robbie Moore (Keighley - Conservative)

Andrea Jenkyns (Morley and Outwood - Conservative)

Miriam Cates (Penistone and Stocksbridge -Conservative)

Stuart Andrew (Pudsey - Conservative)

Rishi Sunak (Richmond - Conservative)

Alexander Stafford (Rother Valley - Conservative)

Robert Goodwill (Scarborough and Whitby - Conservative)

Nigel Adams (Selby and Ainsty - Conservative)

Philip Davies (Shipley - Conservative)

Julian Smith (Skipton and Ripon - Conservative)

Kevin Hollinrake (Thirsk and Malton -Conservative)

Imran Ahmad Khan (Wakefield - Conservative)

Julian Sturdy (York Outer - Conservative)

The following two MPs did not vote:

Andrew Percy (Brigg and Goole - Conservative)

Graham Stuart MP (Beverley and Holderness - Conservative)

Lia Nici (Great Grimsby - Conservative)

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.