Batley and Spen by-election results: Kim Leadbeater wins for Labour

Kim Leadbeater is the new Batley and Spen MPKim Leadbeater is the new Batley and Spen MP
Kim Leadbeater is the new Batley and Spen MP
Kim Leadbeater has won the Batley and Spen by-election, holding the seat for Labour.

Ms Leadbeater beat Conservative candidate Ryan Stephenson by a narrow margin of 323 votes.

George Galloway, representing the Workers Party, finished third.

Here are the full results:

Kim Leadbeater, Labour - 13,296 votes

Ryan Stephenson, Conservative - 12,973

George Galloway, Workers Party - 8,264

Tom Gordon, Liberal Democrats - 1,254

Corey Robinson, Yorkshire Party - 816

Therese Hirst, English Democrats - 207

Jack Thomson, UKIP - 151

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Howling Laud Hope, The Official Monster Raving Loony Party - 107

Mike Davies, Alliance for Green Socialism - 104

Paul Bickerdike, Christian People's Alliance - 102

Jonathan Tilt, Freedom Alliance - 100

Anne Marie Waters, The For Britain Movement - 97

Andrew Smith, Rejoin EU - 75

Oliver Purser, Social Democratic Party - 66

Jayda Fransen, Independent - 50

Susan Laird, Heritage Party - 33

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.