Joe Root and 'Miracle of Headingley 2019' star named in New Year Honours

England Cricket Test captain Joe Root and the man behind the 'Miracle of Headingley 2019' are among those named in  the New Year Honours list.

Saturday, 28th December 2019, 6:00 am
Joe Root Photo: Mike Egerton PA/Wire

Yorkshire Country cricketer Root, who was born in Sheffield and learned his trade at Sheffield Collegiate Cricket Club, has been awarded an MBE for services to cricket.

Root, who was part of the England squad that won the 2019 Cricket World Cup, made his debut for England in the 2012 Test series in India.

England all-rounder Ben Stokes has been awarded an OBE for services to cricket after he grabbed the headlines during an incredible summer.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Ben Stokes celebrates winning the Ashes Test match at Headingley. Photo: Mike Egerton/PA Wire.

Stokes’ match-winning 135 not out against Australia in the third Ashes Test in August at Headingley - with a little help from Jack Leach - inspired one of the greatest wins in England’s history and was hailed as 'The Miracle of Headingley.'

Stokes' heroics at Headingley came after he scored an unbeaten 84 as England became world champions with victory over New Zealand in July.

England limited overs cricket captain Eoin Morgan, who captained the team to World Cup glory, has been made a CBE while wicketkeeper Jos Buttler, England's top run-scorer in the tournament, was given an MBE.

BBC presenter and former gymnast Gabby Logan has been awarded an MBE for services to sports broadcasting and to the promotion of women in sport.

Gabby Logan Photo: John Walton PA/Wire

Leeds born Mrs Logan, the daughter of former Leeds United player Terry Yorath, was named as Leeds Trinity University’s first ever chancellor in 2012 and stepped down from the role in 2018.

Great British Bake Off winner Nadiya Hussain has been awarded an MBE for services to Broadcasting and to the Culinary Arts.

Ms Hussain lived in Leeds when she won the bake off in 2015.

Who in Leeds and Wakefield has been awarded honours?

Nadiya Hussain Photo: PA


* Thomas Messenger Riordan. Chief executive Leeds City Council. For services to Local Government.


* Ali Akbor. Chief executive officer Unity Housing Association. For services to the community in Leeds.

* Professor Philip Howard. Consultant pharmacist Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust and lately National Project Lead, Antimicrobial Resistance, NHS Improvement. For services to Healthcare.


* Col Patrick Cairns, DL. Chief executive, St George's Police Children's Trust and Police Treatment Centres Charities. For services to Police Charities.

* Francis Stephen Clayton. Chair Yorkshire and the Humber Apprenticeship Ambassador Network. For services to Apprenticeships.

* Kathryn Anne Farrington. Special Educational Needs and Disabilities Coordinator Drighlington Primary School, Leeds. For services to Children and Young People.

* Maureen Alyson Hughes. Foster Carer Leeds City Council. For services to Children and Young People in Leeds.

* William George Hughes. Foster Carer Leeds City Council. For services to Children and Young People in Leeds.

*Gertrude Silman. Life president Holocaust Survivors Friendship Association. For services to Holocaust Education.

* Ruth Terry. Head of Service Children's Social Work, Leeds City Council. For services to Children and Families.

* Angela Wright. Foster Carer Wakefield Metropolitan District Council. For services to Children in Wakefield.


* Pauline Janet Burns. For services to the community in Knottlingley. West Yorkshire.

* Amy Hearn. For services to Libraries.