Photo memories of Middleton Park Cafe down the decades
It was the cafe offered offered a warm welcome and good company in the heart of a green gem for decades.
Middleton Park Cafe opened in 1920 and dates from the time Leeds City Council acquired the parkland from the Maude family. The cafe was housed in an old row of six cottages known locally as Top of the Wood. It still retained its original range and fireplace when it finally closed in November 1997 despite a 500-strong petition to save it. These photos are a mix from the YEP archive and others published courtesy of photographic archive Leodis, which is run by Leeds Library & Information Service. They also run heritage blog The Secret Library Leeds, which provides a behind the scenes look at the Central Library and highlights from its special collections, including rare books hidden away in the stacks.READ MORE: 15 photo memories of Middleton in 1997 LOVE LEEDS? LOVE NOSTALGIA? Join Leeds Retro on facebook