Leeds Sunday League in 38 photos - Do you remember these footballers from down the years?

This gallery of photos showcase the good, the bad and the ugly from the Leeds Sunday League through the decades.

Sunday, 26th January 2020, 11:00 am
Updated Thursday, 13th February 2020, 10:19 am
Do you remember these footballers from down the years? PICS: Steve Riding
Do you remember these footballers from down the years? PICS: Steve Riding

We hope they spark happy memories for the footballers who will remember the glory and epic fails through the 1980s, 1990s and 2000s. They were all taken by our own local football stalwart Steve Riding. READ MORE: Leeds Combination League in 41 photos LOVE LEEDS? LOVE NOSTALGIA? Join Leeds Retro on facebook

We kick off with Vinny Archer netting from the penalty spot to give Prince Philip Centre a 3-1 victory over Barnleigh in the Raftery Cup.
Matthew Barrett (right) scores for Swinnow Victoria against Becketts Arms to give the defending Premier League champions the win.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Winners of the Division 1A in May 1978. Have you spotted our own Steve Riding on the photo?
Back, from left: Steve Pickersgill, Nick Farrar, Terry Brady, Alan Morrisroe, Gary Sutcliffe (captain) Alan Scholes, Phil Leaf, Mick Ragan. Front: Carl Farrar, Steve Hartley, Ian Rowell, Mick Wood, Rick Whittaker and Colin Murray.
Back row, from left: Stuart Glossop, Andy White, Mick Roberts, Dale Mitchell, Kevin Roebuck, Tony Keating (manager). Front: Steve Phillips, John Packer, Kevin Harrison, Darren Sebine, Mark Graves and Mark Linley.
Steve Wade (manager), Tony Sadler, Alan Millar, Paul Brown, Si Render, Gary Matthews, Stephen Clay, Dave Liversidge. Front: Paul Sykes, Mark Woodfield, Steve Conlon, Andy Healey, Stu Westerman, Dave Brown, Andy Knowles, Andy James
Back row, from left: Mark Swales, Darren Grayson, Peter Gibson, Steve Bray, Steve Tatler, Paul Lewis and Graham Hilton. Front: Russell Hancock, Colin Allanson, Frank Collins, John Prowse and Alan Longman.
Paul Allinson, Phil Aston, John Allinson, Andy Hampson, Mick Berry, Peter Barrett, John Rea, Chris Parker, Leon Wray Front: Ian Fitzpatrick, Paul Gallagher, John Ramsden, Colin Shaw, Wayne Fieldhouse, Peter Stead, Kenny Baker.
Shaun Wood (left) of Seacroft WMC United, takes on Harehills Labour Club defender Paul Webster.
Swinnow Victoria player manager Martin Haresign turns in celebration after Craig Corker scores against Torre Social.
Darren Bennett's shot is saved on the line by Yorkshire Rider goalkeeper John Cage as Whinmoor Hotel lost 2-0 in the semi-final of the President's Cup.
Dog and Gun striker Stuart Wilkinson is stopped by Adel goalkeeper Andy Bailes.
Ian Johnson of Alexander fires towards goal.
Stuart Taylor scores Intake's second goal despite the efforts of Gipton Hotel goalkeeper Martin Richardson.
Ted Rodger (manager), Martin Lally, Eugene Reddington, Keith Lockwood, Murray Lumsden, Eamon Watson, Jonny Alderson, Paul Norris. Front: Jimmy Kerrigan, Sean Smith, Steve Arabski, Pete Gray, Pat Flannery, Brian Rodger, Tony Hiscoe.
Bill Blakey (manager), John Quinn, Craig Blakey, Paul Tempest, Graham Tempest, Trevor Dolphin, Wayne Tempest and Martin Mace. Front: Darren Tempest, Paul Hendry, Andy Judge, Steve Hill, Ian Morley, Kevin Morley and Paul Smith.
Back: Gary Pick, Jay Mann, Terry McVeigh, Paul Cooney, Craig Redmond, Lee Thompson, Philip Mann. Front: Craig Patterson, Dave Garside, Robert Maw, Andy Murray, Richard Harrison and Paul Mann.
New Junction goalkeeper Paul Hudson palms the ball away from Stephen Gorhan of Central Ex-Servicemen.
Oakwood Athletic scorers in the 4-2 Division 2 win against East Leeds Dinamo. From left, Darren McKay, Michael Barnett (2) and Vaughn Fox
Back, from left: Darryl Phelan, Michael Jones, Ian Bean, Darren McIlroy, Richard Sutcliffe, Sean Phelan, John Webster. Front: Barry Shepherd, Lee Carney, Owen Corkery, Pepie Morley and Steve Denton.
Back, from left: Jim Oldroyd (secretary), Jeremy Grayson, Gary Skidmore, John Comisky, Ronnie McMahon, Kulli Nizar, Andrew Wood. Front: Craig Davy, Mark Hocker, Peter Tosney, Malcolm Wood, Liam Griffin, Liam Brocksom, John Bolton.
Back: Kevin Scotter, Mark Craven, Keith Danby, Wayne Moxon, Ian Dixon, Simon Woodall, Tony Murphy, Paul Webster. Front: David Philips Wayne Simister, Jonathan Wayne, Dave Craven (manager), Joe Zadeh, Gary Addison, Tony Armson.
On the run... Joe Lewis of Mustard Pot in action against Brown Hare United.
Back, from left: Neil Beck, Ian McArdle, Mike Townlsy, Warren Freer, Chris Duffy, Bob Exton, Eddie Hickson and John Swain. Front: Stuart Frank, Ian Gibosn, Kevin Reynolds, Mick Tate, Malcolm Lockwood and Simon Freer.
James Eldridge, Joseph Bradley, Michael Druce, Dave Tiffin, Murray Lumsden, Eugene Reddington, Edward Rodger (manager). Front: Martin Lally, Peter Grady, Petrick Flannery, Steve Arabski, Tony Hiscoe, James Kerrigan, Donald McCabe.
Mick Druce of Regent CC clears against Adel.
Geoff Hughes was as happy as a mudlark when his goal paved the way for Queens Arms to beat Oakwood Athletic 3-1.
Chris Mitchell of Queenswood Social Club climbs above the Gipton WMC defence during their Raferty Cup clash.
Action from the Raferty Cup final between Vesper Gate and Cramner Bank.
Back: Darren Turner, Calvin James, Clive Paul, Michael Herbert, Tony Louis, Guy Meynall, Michael Sharp, Glen Lamont. Front: Craig Allotey, John Eadie, Chris Barrett, Mark Gilbert, Paddy Campbell, Leigh Thackrah.
James Pascoe of the Original Oak passes the ball past Ryan Magee of Commerical HQ.
Simon Danby scores for Swillington WMC against Armley White Horse.
Back: Dave Curry, Lee Tucker, Neil Donohue, Peter Lines, Dave Gardner, Dave Goodwill, James Waite, Paul Foster. Front: Mick Totten, Scott Lemm, Ricky Marriner, Paul Frank, Jez Wyatt and Justin Murray.
Scott McDade (second left) scores for Pudsey 2005 Sunday against Crooked Billet.
Dan Smitrh heads out for the Black Horse against Corpus Christi.
White Hart goalkeeper Paddy Breen tips a shot over the bar from Dave Alison of Harehills WMC.
Christian Grayson celebrates scoring for West Hunslet Conservative Club against Acorn.
Pudsey 2005 goalscorers in the 5-2 win against Red Star Harehills. From left, James Rainford, Mark Pickles (3) and Simon Yeadon.
Mick Mardell of Torre Social fire towards goal against the Prince Philip Centre.
Share your memories of playing in the Leeds Sunday League through the years with Andrew Hutchinson via email at: [email protected] or tweet him - @AndyHutchYPN