Wigan Warriors v Leeds Rhinos: Bodies gradually returning as Rhinos look to stop rot

TEAM-MATES five days ago will be opponents tonight when Leeds Rhinos visit Wigan.

By The Newsroom
Thursday, 28th June 2018, 12:07 am
Leeds Rhinos' Richie Myler. Picture:Tony Johnson.
Leeds Rhinos' Richie Myler. Picture:Tony Johnson.

Ryan Hall is back in Rhinos’ squad after England duty last week and will be up against John Bateman and Sean O’Loughlin, who also featured in the Test win over New Zealand in Denver.

Rhinos are set to field a stronger side than for the past two games as they aim to avoid a club record seventh successive Super League defeat.

Richie Myler has been given the all-clear to return at scrum-half after missing two games due to concussion and Brad Singleton is in contention following a seven-match layoff with a broken thumb.

Ashton Golding (ankle), is also included in Rhinos’ initial 19-man squad, along with Jack Ormondroyd who was 18th man for the loss to Catalans Dragons eight days ago.

Anthony Mullally (concussion) drops out and teenagers Harry Newman and Tom Holroyd also stand down.

Players remaining on Leeds’ casualty list are Kallum Watkins, Jamie Jones-Buchanan, Carl Ablett, Steve Ward, Brett Delaney, Jimmy Keinhorst and Nathaniel Peteru. Wigan are set to give a debut to new signing Joe Greenwood, the former St Helens forward who has joined them from Australian NRL side Gold Coast Titans.

Liam Farrell is back in contention, but the injured Dan Sarginson drops out from the side beaten at Castleford last week along with Craig Field. George Williams, who travelled to Denver last week but did not play due to a knee problem, remains on the casualty list.

Wigan Warriors: from Bateman, Clubb, Davies, Escaré, Farrell, Flower, Gildart, Greenwood, Hamlin, Isa, Leuluai, Marshall, Navarette, O’Loughlin, Paisley, Powell, Tautai, Tomkins, Woods.

Leeds Rhinos: from Golding, T Briscoe, L Sutcliffe, Hall, Moon, Myler, Cuthbertson, Parcell, Singleton, Dwyer, Garbutt, Ferres, Handley, Ormondroyd, Walker, Smith, Oledzki, Walters, L Briscoe.

Referee: Ben Thaler (Wakefield).

Kick-off: Tonight, 7.45pm.