Wakefield Wildcats: Cats are focused solely on winning says Webster

James Webster.
James Webster.
Have your say

TONIGHT ISN’T about regaining pride, it’s about winning the game.

So says Wakefield Trinity Wildcats coach James Webster as his team prepare to face First Utility Super League champions St Helens at the Rapid Solicitors Stadium, Belle Vue.

Wildcats were thrashed 58-16 at Widnes Vikings five days ago and Webster said: “We were really disappointed, but our focus is on improving in the areas we need to improve to be able to beat Saints.

“We are going into the game to try and win it and we spoke at the start of the year about going into every game confident we can win.

“We know this is a massive test, but we’re looking forward to it and we want to get out there and do a better job than last week.”

Captain Danny Kirmond reckons Saints’ visit is “a great challenge for us”.

He said: “There’s no easy games in Super League anyway, every week is going to be difficult and all the teams are beating each other.

“It’s a shorter turnaround than normal and obviously off the back of the last game we’ll have quite a bit of work to do.

“It is going to be a tough game, we know that, but we will be up for the challenge I am sure.

“It is a difficult competition and you can’t afford to get down too much and look back at defeats like that.

“You’ve got to get over them straight away and we’ve got chance to do that against Saints.”

Scott Anderson drops out from last week’s squad due to a serious knee injury, but Mickael Simon and Joe Arundel could make their debut and Matty Ashurst is in contention after injury.

Saints are without suspended duo Travis Burns and Kyle Amor and Josh Jones also drops out, with Jordan Turner, Lance Hohaia, Paul Wellens, Matt Dawson and Andre Savelio all coming into contention.

Wakefield Trinity Wildcats: from Hall, Riley, Collis, Lyne, Owen, Miller, T Smith, Scruton, McShane, D Smith, Ryan, Kirmond, Washbrook, Lauitiiti, Godinet, Paea, Simon, Ashurst, Arundel.

St Helens: from Lomax, Makinson, Percival, Turner, Swift, Hohaia, Wilkin, Walmsley, Roby, Masoe, Greenwood, Vea, McCarthy-Scarsbrook, Flanagan, Thompson, Richards, Wellens, Dawson, Savelio.

Referee: Robert Hicks.

Kick-off: Tonight, 8pm.