Team news: Squad strength of depleted Leeds Rhinos to be tested by St Helens

Jordan Lilley. PIC: Tony Johnson.
Jordan Lilley. PIC: Tony Johnson.
Have your say

LEEDS RHINOS’ squad strength will be tested when they face St Helens at Headingley tonight.

Captain/half-back Danny McGuire and forward Jamie Jones-Buchanan will both serve a one-match ban and back-rower Brett Ferres has been ruled out due to a knee injury.

Rob Burrow. PIC: Bruce Rollinson

Rob Burrow. PIC: Bruce Rollinson

Full-back Ashton Golding has been named in Rhinos’ initial 19-man squad, but remains in doubt due to a hamstring problem. Half-back/hooker Rob Burrow is facing around six more weeks on the sidelines following surgery on a shoulder and Ferres is due to undergo a knee clean-out next week and could be out of action for a month.

READ MORE - ‘We’re playing for pride’ insists ever-present Adam Cuthbertson

READ MORE - Peter Smith - ‘Inside Rugby League’: Added time in TV games is proving to be a turn-off

READ MORE - Coach McDermott eager to see Toovey’s influence on reserve ‘seven’ Lilley

Danny McGuire. PIC: Bruce Rollinson

Danny McGuire. PIC: Bruce Rollinson

READ MORE - Defiant Ward is expecting Rhinos to go on offensive

READ MORE - Leeds Rhinos’ Jury - Fans’ verdict on Cas defeat and St Helens showdown

READ MORE - Saints boss Holbrook aims to ‘lock up’ Leeds Rhinos

Centre Jimmy Keinhorst (hand) and back-rower Brett Delaney (knee) remain on the casualty list.

Half-back Jordan Lilley has been recalled from a loan spell at Bradford Bulls and is set to make only his third Leeds appearance of the season.

Second-rower Carl Ablett will return after recovering from tonsillitis and forwards Jordan Baldwinson and Jack Ormondroyd, who have been playing on dual-registration for Featherstone Rovers, are also included in Leeds’ 19.

Saints’ England centre Mark Percival will also serve a one-game ban. His place is likely to be taken by Ryan Morgan and Dominique Peyroux is also in contention for a recall.

Leeds Rhinos: from Golding, Briscoe, Watkins, Moon, Hall, Galloway, Parcell, Cuthbertson, Ablett, Ward, L Sutcliffe, Singleton, Garbutt, Mullally, Ormondroyd, Baldwinson, Lilley, Walker.

St Helens: from Lomax, Makinson, Morgan, Swift, Fages, Smith, Walmsley, Roby, Amor, Wilkin, McCarthy-Scarsbrook, Douglas, Thompson, Lee, Peyroux, Knowles, Grace, Taia.

Referee: James Child (Batley). Kick-off: Thursday, 8pm.