Strength in numbers for Leeds Rhinos as they prepare to open up against Warrington Wolves

Keith Galloway.
Keith Galloway.
Have your say

Fourteen of Leeds Rhinos’ 2015 Grand Final-winning team have been named in their initial 19-man squad for Thursday’s Super League opener at home to Warrington Wolves.

England international back-rower Brett Ferres and former Australia Test prop Keith Galloway are both set to make their competitive debut.

Leeds Rhinos' Brett Ferres

Leeds Rhinos' Brett Ferres

Aussie hooker Beau Falloon has also been included, but is a major doubt after suffering a broken toe in training last week.

Under-19s half-back Jordan Lilley, who can also fill in at hooker, has been named in the squad following Falloon’s injury.

Liam Sutcliffe is in line to make his first competitive appearance since suffering a serious knee injury last June.

He made his comeback when Rhinos beat Bradford Bulls in Carl Ablett’s testimonial game last month.

The players missing from Rhinos’ Grand Final 17 are Kevin Sinfield, Jamie Peacock and Kylie Leuluai, who all played their final game of rugby league at Old Trafford.

Rhinos’ 19-man squad for Thursday is: Zak Hardaker, Tom Briscoe, Kallum Watkins, Joel Moon, Ryan Hall, Danny McGuire, Rob Burrow, Keith Galloway, Beau Falloon, Adam Cuthbertson, Carl Ablett, Liam Sutcliffe, Brett Delaney, Brad Singleton, Matt Garbutt, Jimmy Keinhorst, Josh Walters, Jordan Lilley and Brett Ferres.