Salford Red Devils v Leeds Rhinos: Latest team news

Jamie Jones-Buchanan.
Jamie Jones-Buchanan.
Have your say

CHANGES WILL be made to a winning team when Leeds Rhinos visit Salford Red Devils tomorrow.

Director of rugby Kevin Sinfield has confirmed 26-year-old second-rower Jordan Thompson – who began his career with Castleford Tigers and has also played for Hull – will make his debut after joining Rhinos from Leigh Centurions on a contract until the end of this season.

Jordan Thompson.

Jordan Thompson.

Forward Jamie Jones-Buchanan has been included in Rhinos’ initial squad for the first time since undergoing knee surgery following the Magic Weekend defeat by Castleford in May.

Prop Nathaniel Peteru is also in contention after recovering from a biceps tear suffered in the same game.

Full-back Ashton Golding, who was left out of the side which crushed Widnes Vikings 34-0 seven days ago, is set for a recall along with forwards Cameron Smith and Josh Walters who both played on dual-registration for Featherstone Rovers last weekend.

Winger Ryan Hall will not be risked after suffering a slight shoulder injury against Widnes.

Forward Adam Cuthbertson, whose partner was due to give birth to their first child tomorrow, is rested, along with teenage full-back Jack Walker and prop Mikolaj Oledzki.

Back-rower Stevie Ward and prop Anthony Mullally remained sidelined due to concussion.

Others unavailable tomorrow are centre Kallum Watkins (knee) and second-rowers Brett Delaney (facial injury) and Brett Ferres (leg).

Half-back Jackson Hastings, signed from Manly Sea Eagles, could make his Salford debut.

He is set to replace Jake Shorrocks and forwards Mark Flanagan and Gavin Bennion have been added to the side which lost 44-10 at Catalans Dragons six days ago.

Salford Red Devils: from Sa’u, Evalds, Lui, Jones, Flanagan, Tasi, Lannon, McCarthy, Nakubuwai, Wood, Olpherts, Mossop, Bibby, Nzoungou, Murray, Bennion, Chamberlain, Burke, Hastings.

Leeds Rhinos: from Golding, T Briscoe, L Sutcliffe, Moon, Myler, Parcell, Singleton, Jones-Buchanan, Ablett, Dwyer, Garbutt, Keinhorst, Peteru, Handley, Smith, Walters, L Briscoe, Crosby, Thompson.

Referee: Tom Grant (Leeds).

Kick-off: Tomorrow, 8pm.