Leeds Rhinos v Wigan Warriors: Cuthbertson in contention after two-month absence

Leeds Rhinos' Adam Cuthbertson.
Leeds Rhinos' Adam Cuthbertson.
Have your say

FRONT-ROWER ADAM Cuthbertson is in contention to make his first appearance for Leeds Rhinos in almost two months when Wigan Warriors visit Emerald Headingley tomorrow.

Cuthbertson is in full training after recovering from the broken hand he suffered during the World Club Challenge defeat at Melbourne Storm on February 16.

Anthony Mullally touches down.

Anthony Mullally touches down.

Fellow prop Anthony Mullally could also return.

He suffered concussion in the Good Friday draw at Huddersfield Giants and was unavailable for the win over Salford Red Devils on Easter Monday.

Mullally was cleared to play against Wakefield Trinity last Sunday, but was not selected.

Joel Moon missed the victory over Wakefield due to illness, but is set to replace Liam Sutcliffe at stand-off in tomorrow’s side.

Joel Moon.

Joel Moon.

Sutcliffe returned from a foot injury, but suffered a similar problem during the game. Brett Delaney is back in contention after missing one game due to a hamstring issue, but Brett Ferres drops out.

Full-back Jack Walker (ankle) and props Mitch Garbutt (knee) and Nathaniel Peteru (biceps) remain on the injury list.

Wigan are without prop Ben Flower who suffered concussion in last Saturday’s win at Catalans Dragons.

Full-back Morgan Escare has been drafted into their squad and forwards Taulima Tautai and Joel Tomkins are vying for a recall to the 17.

Tomorrow will be the fourth successive Leeds-Wigan game refereed by Ben Thaler and his first Rhinos appointment this year.

Of the eight games involving Rhinos he has refereed since the start of last season, half have been against Wigan Warriors.

Leeds Rhinos: from Golding, Briscoe, Watkins, Hall, Moon, Myler, Cuthbertson, Parcell, Singleton, Jones-Buchanan, Ablett, Ward, Dwyer, Delaney, Mullally, Handley, Smith, Oledzki, Walters.

Wigan Warriors: from Bateman, Burgess, Clubb, Escare, Farrell, Gildart, Hamlin, Isa, Leuluai, Marshall, Navarrete, O’Loughlin, Powell, Sarginson, Sutton, Tautai, J Tomkins, S Tomkins, Williams.

Referee: Ben Thaler (Wakefield).

Kick-off: Tomorrow, 7.45pm.