Leeds Rhinos v Hull KR: Sidelined trio targets Elland Road return for Rhinos

Leeds Rhinos' Mitch Garbutt.
Leeds Rhinos' Mitch Garbutt.
Have your say

THERE WILL be at least one enforced change to Leeds Rhinos’ side tonight.

Forward Nathaniel Peteru suffered a biceps injury during his debut against Warrington Wolves last week and drops out of Leeds’ initial 19-man squad.

Ashton Golding.

Ashton Golding.

But Stevie Ward has fully recovered from closed-season shoulder surgery and is set to play his first game since last year’s Betfred Super League Grand Final.

Also back in contention is prop Mitch Garbutt. He missed the win at Warrington seven days ago due to a dead-leg sustained in Rhinos’ final pre-season game, against Featherstone Rovers.

Full-back Ashton Golding is the other player vying for a call into the 17.

Prop Keith Galloway (Achilles) and second-row Brett Ferres (knee) remain on Rhinos’ casualty list.

Stevie Ward.

Stevie Ward.

Opponents Hull KR’s matchday side will be selected from the 17 players beaten at home by Wakefield Trinity last Friday, plus half-back Chris Atkin and forward Jordan Walne. Their 19 includes former Rhinos captain Danny McGuire and fellow ex-Leeds players Thomas Minns, Shaun Lunt, Chris Clarkson and Robbie Mulhern.

Tonight will be the 13th time Leeds have played at Elland Road and the third against Hull KR.

The sides drew 24-24 there in a classic Challenge Cup replay in 1986 and Rovers went through to Wembley with a 17-0 replay win on the same ground.

Elland Road historian Jon Howe confirms Leeds’ previous games at the stadium include four World Club Challenges, three Challenge Cup semi-finals, two league meetings with Hunslet and one final in each of the Championship, John Player Special Trophy and Yorkshire Cup.

Leeds Rhinos: From Golding, Briscoe, Watkins, L Sutcliffe, Hall, Moon, Myler, Cuthbertson, Parcell, Singleton, Jones-Buchanan, Ablett, Ward, Dwyer, Delaney, Mullally, Garbutt, Ormondroyd, Walker

Hull KR: From Quinlan, Minns, Heffernan, Shaw, McGuire, Lunt, Masoe, Blair, Greenwood, Kavanagh, Jewitt, Clarkson, Lee, Marsh, Mulhern, Salter, Atkin, Walne, Carney.

Referee: Robert Hicks (Oldham).

Kick-off: Tonight, 7.45pm.