Leeds Rhinos: Off-season signings set to debut against St Helens

Off-season signing Matt Parcell with Danny McGuire.
Off-season signing Matt Parcell with Danny McGuire.
Have your say

Off-season signings Matt Parcel and Jack Ormondroyd could both make their debut for Leeds Rhinos in Thursday’s Betfred Super League opener at St Helens.

Parcell, signed from Manly Sea Eagles, is expected to start at hooker after impressing in pre-season and Ormondroyd has also been named in coach Brian McDermott’s first 19-man squad of the campaign.

Prop-forward Ormondroyd was brought in from Featherstone Rovers and caught the eye with some strong pre-season performances.

He also played for Roverson dual-registration in their win at Halifax last Sunday.

Fellow forward Jordan Baldwinson is another one included after featuring in Rovers’ opening Kingstone Press Championship fixture.

Captain Danny McGuire and back-rower Stevie Ward have both been named in the initial 19 despite playing just once in pre-season.

McGuire suffered a quad strain scoring a try in Ryan Hall’s testimonial game against Hull KR on January 20 and missed the following week’s game at Featherstone, but returned to full training this week.

Joel Moon and Brad Singleton are also back in contention after sitting out the 24-0 win at Big Fellas Stadium with minor injuries.

Brett Ferres, who did not play in pre-season due to an abductor muscle problem, misses out along with Brett Delaney and long-term casualty Keith Galloway (Achilles).

Saints are without former Wigan half-back Matty Smith, who suffered a broken leg in a pre-season game against Widnes Vikings.

Danny Richardson, aged 20, could make his Super League debut in place of Smith and new signings Luke Douglas, Ryan Morgan, Tommy Lee and Adam Walker are also included in Saints’ squad.

Leeds’ initial 19 is: Ashton Golding, Tom Briscoe, Kallum Watkins, Joel Moon, Ryan Hall, Danny McGuire, Rob Burrow, Matt Parcell, Adam Cuthbertson, Jamie Jones-Buchanan, Carl Ablett, Stevie Ward, Liam Sutcliffe, Brad Singleton, Mitch Garbutt, Jimmy Keinhorst, Anthony Mullally, Jack Ormondroyd, Jordan Baldwinson.

Saints’ 19 is: Jonny Lomax, Tommy Makinson, Ryan Morgan, Mark Percival, Adam Swift, Theo Fages, Alex Walmsley, James Roby, Kyle Amor, Joe Greenwood, Jon Wilkin, Luke Douglas, Adam Walker, Luke Thompson, Tommy Lee, Dominique Peyroux, Morgan Knowles, Jack Ashworth, Danny Richardson.