Leeds Rhinos' team of the decade

Some of the greatest players in the club’s history turned out for Leeds Rhinos during the 2010s and here The Yorkshire Evening Post picks its team of the decade.

Tuesday, 31st December 2019, 12:00 pm
Updated Tuesday, 31st December 2019, 1:18 pm
Kevin Sinfield

Full-back: Zak Hardaker.

It’s between him and ‘Superman’ Brent Webb, but Rhinos’ 2012 season turned after Hardaker switched to full-back. That year brought the second of his three Grand Final wins and he was Man of Steel during 2015 when Rhinos collected the treble.

Wing: Tom Briscoe and Ryan Hall.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Kallum Watkins

Ben Jones-Bishop did well at the start of the decade and Ash Handley is developing into one of Super League’s best, but these two dominated for Rhinos during some glory years, both winning a Lance Todd trophy and Briscoe setting a record for most tries in a Challenge Cup final.

Centre: Kallum Watkins and Joel Moon.

Watkins became one of the world’s best during his time at Leeds and had a spell as captain, while Moon ably filled the gap left by Keith Senior’s departure.

Stand-off: Kevin Sinfield.

Rob Burrow. Picture by Bruce Rollinson.

Rugby league’s greatest captain and third-highest points scorer. An inspirational leader, outstanding kicker and vastly underrated as a player.

Scrum-half: Danny McGuire.

Arguably Super League’s best player, he became a general for Rhinos in the 2010s after beginning his career as a try poacher and led Leeds to Old Trafford glory in 2017.

Hooker: Rob Burrow.

Jamie Jones-Buchanan. Picture by Bruce Rollinson.

Maybe not a ‘proper hooker’, but filled that role and created some iconic memories, especially at Old Trafford in 2011 when he was a unanimous man of the match.

Prop: Kylie Leuluai and Jamie Peacock.

Leuluai is Rhinos’ best overseas recruit of the summer era and Peacock Leeds’ finest-ever signing from another club. Both had a glorious finale in the treble-winning season.

Second-row: Jamie Jones-Buchanan and Carl Ablett.

The last men standing from Rhinos’ golden generation, Ablett was outstanding in the first half of the decade while Jones-Buchanan was a warrior throughout, despite some horrific injuries.

Loose-forward: Stevie Ward.

Luckless with injuries, yes, but in three of the four seasons he played more than 20 games, Rhinos won the title – and they were Challenge Cup champions in the other.

Subs: Brett Delaney, Danny Buderus, Adam Cuthbertson, Brent Webb.