Leeds Rhinos reveal second batch of squad numbers for 2020 – with two positions left vacant for possible new recruits

Excited Leeds Rhinos director of rugby Kevin Sinfield says the club’s array of youngsters have “unquestionable talent” after revealing the latest group of squad numbers for the 2020 season.

Thursday, 5th December 2019, 2:42 pm
Mikolaj Oledzki.

Having earlier numbered a batch of five players higher up the order, including new signing Luke Gale at No7, Leeds have now revealed who will be wearing 19 to 35.

Although it includes Luke Briscoe and Wellington Albert – both aged 25 – along with 28-year-old James Donaldson, the remaining 13 players have an average age of just 19.

Indeed, Corey Hall , the centre who recently joined from Wigan Warriors, is only 17 and the youngest member of the 2020 first-team squad.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Callum McLelland.

Rhinos say they have kept numbers 20 and 21 vacant with the club working on recruitment of senior players to join the squad following the departure of Trent Merrin.

Sinfield said: “This a very exciting group of young players with unquestionable talent.

“Obviously, with the re-introduction of the reserve team this season, we are confident they will grow together over the next few years and enjoy bright futures at the club as they develop alongside the senior players at the club.

“Mikolaj Oledzki and Cameron Smith have been knocking on the door for a couple of years and now have the chance to cement their place in the first-team squad.

James Donaldson.

“Corey Johnson, Callum McLelland, Alex Sutcliffe, Tom Holroyd and Muizz Mustapha all have made their first-team debuts now and along with Sam Walters, Dan Waite Pullan and Jack Broadbent spent time on loan in the Championship last season.

“With regards keeping two spots open at this stage, Richard Agar is happy with how the group as a whole are progressing in pre-season but we will continue to work in the market to find the right people to fit into our squad and environment.”

The next group of 2020 squad numbers (ages in brackets, academy products in bold): 19 Mikolaj Oledzki (21), 22 Cameron Smith (21), 23 Callum McLelland (20), 24 Luke Briscoe (25), 25 James Donaldson (28), 26 Alex Sutcliffe (20), 27 Sam Walters (18), 28 Thomas Holroyd (18), 29 Corey Johnson (19), 30 Muizz Mustapha (19), 31 Dan Waite Pullan (21), 32 Tyler Dupree (19), 33 Jarrod O’Connor (18), 34 Jack Broadbent (19), 35 Wellington Albert (25).