Featherstone 19 Halifax 20: Rovers pipped at the post by never-say-die Fax

Halifax match winner, goalkicker Steve Tyrer.
Halifax match winner, goalkicker Steve Tyrer.
Have your say

HALIFAX snatched a dramatic win with Steve Tyrer’s 79th minute penalty goal.

Rovers looked set for victory when Leeds Rhinos’ dual registered Jordan Lilley put them 19-18 up with a 40-yard drop goal three minutes from time.

But Halifax regained possession from the re-start and Tyrer earned Halifax their third straight league win by landing his fourth goal from four kicks when Featherstone were penalised for offside near their own posts.

It was tough on Rovers and young half-back Lilley who made an impressive debut.

Halifax went ahead when Ben Kaye and Jacob Fairbank sent in ex-Featherstone half-back Gareth Moore.

Lilley had an effort ruled out for a forward pass and Jamie Cording was held up over the line before Rovers levelled when Andy Ellis put in Lilley, who converted his own try.

Lilley missed a penalty goal attempt on the stroke of half-time but Featherstone went in front two minutes into the second half when Danny Craven sent in Misi Taulapapa.

Halifax stormed back with two tries in five minutes from former Rovers player Sam Smeaton.

Adam Tangata’s excellent run set up Smeaton’s first and Scott Murrell sent in the centre for his second, with Tyrer adding his third goal to give Halifax an 18-10 lead.

Rovers cut the gap to two points when Will Milner, Craven, Ian Hardman and Taulapapa made the opening for Scott Turner to score at the corner and Lilley added a touchline goal.

Lilley made it 18-18 with a penalty goal and he then edged Featherstone ahead with his one-pointer but Tyrer’s late goal gave Halifax a win that lifted them above Rovers to fifth in the table.

Featherstone Rovers: Hardman; Johnson, Tagg, Taulapapa, Turner; Craven, Lilley; Griffin, Ellis, Ormondroyd, Cording, Davies, Spears. Subs: Bostock, Milner, Cooper, Baldwinson.

Halifax: Greenwood; Eccleston, Smeaton, Tyrer, Saxton; G Moore; Murrell; Cahalane, Kaye, Ambler, Manning, Tangata, Fairbank. Subs: R Moore, Bennion, A Robinson, B Moore.

Referee: Chris Kendall (RFL).

Attendance: 2,129.