Rugby League: Champions Leeds Rhinos to open campaign against Wolves

Carl Ablett scored a try on his 250th appearance for Leeds Rhinos when they last met Warrington Wolves in this year's Super-8s.
Carl Ablett scored a try on his 250th appearance for Leeds Rhinos when they last met Warrington Wolves in this year's Super-8s.
Have your say

LEEDS RHINOS will begin the defence of their First Utility Super League title at home to Warrington Wolves on Thursday, February 4 next year.

Rhinos’ opener kicks off the new campaign and will see them face a side who beat them twice in 2015, though the Grand Final winners gained revenge with a victory at Headingley in the Super-8s.

Castleford Tigers start away to Hull KR on Sunday, February 7, with Wakefield Trinity Wildcats’ season getting underway the same afternoon, at home to Widnes Vikings.

The fixtures have been published just over a week after Rhinos completed a clean-sweep of trophies with a 22-20 victory over Wigan Warriors in the Super League Grand Final.

Leeds’ first match is away to Widnes on Sunday, February 14.

There will be little love lost that afternoon, when Wildcats visit Tigers in the first derby of the campaign.

Rhinos will take a break from league action on Sunday, February 21, when they take on Australian champions North Queensland Cowboys in the World Club Challenge, at either Headingley or Elland Road.

Castleford have no game that weekend, when St Helens and Wigan also face Australian visitors, but Wildcats are in action, away to Hull KR.

That fixture has been brought forward from round 11, in April, when Wildcats and Hull KR will be involved in the Ladbrokes Challenge Cup, along with Salford Red Devils and Widnes, who also meet on February 21.

Super League’s bottom four teams in 2015 will enter the Challenge Cup at the fifth-round stage, with the other eight clubs joining in one round later.

Rhinos travel to Catalans Dragons on Saturday, February 27 and other notable dates include a trip to Wigan on March 11 and the visit of St Helens a week later.

That is followed by two Easter derbies, with Rhinos visiting Castleford Tigers on Thursday, March 24, followed by a home game against Wakefield four days later.

Wakefield have home advantage against Huddersfield Giants on Good Friday and Tigers face an Easter Monday trip to the south of France.

Fixtures for the Kingstone Press Championship and League One have also been published.

Featherstone Rovers face a tough Championship opener at Bradford Bulls, Dewsbury Rams visit Swinton Lions and Batley Bulldogs kick off at home to champions Leigh Centurions, all on Sunday, February 7.

Hunslet, relegated this year, start their League One campaign with a trip to Rochdale Hornets on Sunday, March 6.

Fixtures for Super League in 2016

Leeds Rhinos


04 Warrington Wolves 8pm

14 Widnes Vikings 3pm

27 Catalans Dragons 6pm


04 Huddersfield Giants 8pm

11 Wigan Warriors 8pm

18 St Helens 8pm

24 Castleford Tigers 8pm

28 Wakefield Trinity Wildcats TBC


01 Hull KR 8pm

08 Salford Red Devils 8pm

15 Hull 8pm

22 St Helens 8pm

29 Huddersfield Giants 8pm


12 Castleford Tigers 8pm

21 Wigan Warriors (MW) 7pm

27 Warrington Wolves 8pm


03 Catalans Dragons 8pm

10 Salford Red Devils 8pm

19 Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 3pm


03 Widnes Vikings 3pm

08 Hull 8pm

15 Wigan Warriors 8pm

21 Hull KR 8pm

Castleford Tigers


07 Hull KR 3pm

14 Wakefield Wildcats 3.30pm

26 Hull FC 8pm


04 St Helens 8pm

13 Salford Red Devils 3.30pm

18 Warrington Wolves 8pm

24 Leeds Rhinos 8pm

28 Catalans Dragons TBC


03 Huddersfield Giants 3.30pm

10 Widnes Vikings 3pm

15 Wigan Warriors 8pm

24 Hull KR 3.30pm

29 St Helens 8pm


12 Leeds Rhinos 8pm

21 Warrington Wolves4.45pm

26 Wigan Warriors 8pm


03 Huddersfield Giants 8pm

09 Widnes Vikings 8pm

19 Hull FC 3.30pm


01 Salford Red Devils 8pm

10 Catalans Dragons 3.30pm

17 Warrington Wolves 3.30pm

24 Wakefield Wildcats 3pm

Wakefield Trinity Wildcats


07 Widnes Vikings 3pm

14 Castleford Tigers3.30pm

21 Hull KR 3pm

26 Warrington Wolves 8pm


06 Catalans Dragons 3pm

11 St Helens 8pm

18 Hull 8pm

25 Huddersfield Giants 3pm

28 Leeds Rhinos TBC


02 Salford Red Devils TBC

10 Wigan Warriors3pm

24 Hull 3pm

29 Widnes Vikings8pm


15 Warrington Wolves 3pm

22 Catalans Dragons (MW) 1pm

27 Salford Red Devils 8pm


02 Hull KR 8pm

12 Huddersfield Giants 3pm

19 Leeds Rhinos 3pm


03 St Helens 3pm

08 Wigan Warriors 8pm

16 Catalans Dragons 6pm

24 Castleford Tigers 3pm