Batley Bulldogs 18 Featherstone Rovers 38: Bulldogs’ bite not up to their bark against visiting Rovers

Featherstone Rovers kick off their 2020 Betfred Championship campaign with a convincing 38-18 victory on the road at Batley Bulldogs.

Sunday, 2nd February 2020, 8:02 pm
Featherstone Rovers' points machine, Dane Chisholm. PIC: Tony JohnsonJPIMedia

A 22-point haul from Dane Chisholm partnered with tries from Greg Worthington, Luke Briscoe, Josh Hardcastle and James Harrison was enough for Rovers, who came out on top in what was a well fought win against a resolute Batley team.

Batley were under pressure from the 14th minute when full-back Craig Hall off-loaded for Greg Worthington to touchdown.

But Lewis Galbraith latched onto a loose ball and scored after a kick in the corner from Danny Yates within 10 minutes.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

And five minutes later Alistair Leak came off the bench to put the hosts ahead.

Leeds Rhinos dual-registration players, Callum McLelland and Luke Briscoe combined for the winger to finish in the corner and make it all square at 12-12 at half-time.

But Rovers took over at the start of the second half when Chisholm gathered a loose pass with his back to his try-line and raced the length of the pitch to score.

Moments later, the stand-off continued his fine afternoon with a second try, this time the 29-year-old dumming his way to then crashing over the line.

Batley weren’t about to throw the towel in and Lucas Walshaw burst through to cut the gap to just six points.

A penalty conversion from Chisholm gave Rovers an eight-point lead before Josh Hardcastle crossed for a two-try advantage.

The game was put to bed when Jack Harrison touched down against his former club, grounded a tidy kick from Chisholm.

Next-up for Featherstone Rovers is the first home fixture of the 2020 Betfred Championship season against Halifax RLFC at the LD Nutrition Stadium.

Tickets can be purchase from the Club Superstore or online.

Batley Bulldogs: Hooley, Reittie, Tomlinson, Galbraith, Morton, White, Yates, Brown, Lunt, Everett, Manning, Walshaw, Bowman, Ward, Leak, Blagbrough, Pick.

Featherstone Rovers: Hall, Briscoe, Worthington, Hardcastle, Blackmore, McLelland, Chisholm, Lockwood, Bussey, Susino, Harrison, Ferres, O’Connor, Cooper, Parata, Albert, Carey.

Referee: Tom Grant.