Amateur RL: Raiders rain on champion Thornhill’s parade with late one-pointer

Oulton Raiders' Tom Egan. Picture: Matthew Merrick.
Oulton Raiders' Tom Egan. Picture: Matthew Merrick.
Have your say

OULTON RAIDERS rained on Thornhill Trojans’ parade by inflicting the National Conference Division One champions’ first home defeat of the season.

Raiders completed their campaign with a 17-16 win thanks to Andy Williamson’s last-minute drop goal, which meant Trojans received the trophy on the back of a loss.

Dom Flanagan, Brad Cahill and Chris Hope scored Oulton’s tries, two of them being converted by Keiron Walpole.

In response, George Woodcock bagged a brace for Trojans, Martyn Holland also crossed and Casey Johnson kicked two goals.

Trojans were reduced to 11 players for a spell in the first half when Anthony Harris and Martyn Holland were sin-binned following separate incidents.

It finished 12-a-side after Thornhill’s Brad Llewellyn and Oulton’s Danny Stanley were sent off on the hour.

Milford Marlins’ 18-12 win over Featherstone Lions moved them up to fifth in the final table and means they will travel to Pilkington Recs in a play-off semi-final on Saturday.

Milford’s try scorers were Andy Barker, centre Zak Snelgrove, who had an outstanding game at stand-off, and Dave Watmough, who kicked two conversions and a penalty.

Danny Glassell, Joe Powell and Gaz Gale touched down for the Lions who finished in sixth place and will travel to Leigh Miners in the play-offs this weekend.