Who’d be a manager? Yorkshire’s most durable football bosses ....

Phil Parkinson, on his appointment as Bradford City manager on August 29, 2011.
Phil Parkinson, on his appointment as Bradford City manager on August 29, 2011.
Have your say

Following Steve Evans’s departure from Rotherham United yesterday, we take a look at the progress of the managers currently in charge of the Yorkshire sides – and who has survived the longest.

Phil Parkinson (Bradford City) - in charge since 29/08/2011

Parkinson guided the Bantams to safety in his first season and earned promotion to League One through the play-offs the following campaign, as well as steering them to the final of the Capital One Cup, beating top-flight sides Arsenal and Aston Villa along the way, until they lost to Swansea City in the showpiece.

He continued to deliver magic in the cup competitions last season, masterminding one of the greatest shocks in FA Cup history when Bradford came from 2-0 down to beat Premier League leaders Chelsea 4-2 at Stamford Bridge. The Bantams went on to reach the quarter-finals and narrowly missed out on the League One play-off places.

The 47-year-old is currently the sixth longest-serving manager in the Football League.

Steve Bruce (Hull City) - in charge since 08/06/2012

Bruce earned promotion to the Premier League at the first time of asking with the Tigers and guided them to safety the following year, as well as taking them to the FA Cup final, where they lost 3-2 to Arsenal.

He was unable to repeat these exploits, though, as Hull slipped back down to the Championship on the final day of 2014/15, but they have began their quest for an instant return in fine fettle and sit fourth in the table.

The 54-year-old is currently the Football League’s eighth longest-serving manager.

Mark Bower (Guiseley) - in charge since 19/09/2013

Bower took charge in the early stages of the 2013/14 Conference North season and guided his side to the play-off final, where they were beaten by a last-minute winner from Altrincham.

He led the Lions to another fifth-place finish the following campaign and enjoyed better fortune in the play-offs, beating Chorley 3-2 in the final to secure promotion to the National League for the very first time.

Aitor Karanka (Middlesbrough) - in charge since 13/11/2013

Karanka guided Boro to a mid-table finish of 12th in the 2013/14 Championship season, but led them into the play-offs the following campaign before narrowly missing out on a return to the Premier League at the hands of Norwich City.

They have started this season well and currently sit second in the table after nine games.

Chris Powell (Huddersfield Town) - in charge since 03/09/2014

Powell took charge in the early stages of last season following the sacking of Mark Robins.

He continued the Terriers’ gradual progression up the Championship table, as he oversaw a comfortable finish of 16th.

A poor start followed this season, but they are currently unbeaten in three games this season.

Russ Wilcox (York City) - in charge since 15/10/2014

Wilcox took over with York in the League Two relegation places last season following just a single victory, which led to the sacking of Nigel Worthington.

Results improved after his appointment, however, and he guided the Minstermen to survival in 18th place.

Lee Johnson (Barnsley) - in charge since 25/02/2015

The son of former Yeovil Town and Bristol City manager Gary, Johnson arrived at Oakwell from Oldham Athletic with Barnsley on a run of nine defeats in 14 League One games.

His appointment inspired a seven-match unbeaten run and the Tykes went on to finish in 12th place and they currently sit eighth after a solid start to this campaign.

Uwe Rosler (Leeds United) - in charge since 20/05/2015

Rosler became Leeds’ fourth different manager in the space of the year when he took over in May, with predecessor Neil Redfearn eventually leaving the club just over a month later.

He has made the Whites difficult to beat so far this season, as they have suffered just two defeats from their opening nine matches this season,the most recent coming in a 3-0 defeat to Middlesbrough on Sunday.

Nigel Adkins (Sheffield United) - in charge since 02/06/2015

Adkins took over the Blades from Nigel Clough, who had guided them to the League One play-offs at the end of last season and had also taken them to the semi-finals of the Capital One Cup and the FA Cup during his time at Bramall Lane.

Adkins - formerly of Reading, Southampton and Scunthorpe United - has made a bright start to life in South Yorkshire, with his side currently sitting sixth in the League One table.

Carlos Carvalhal (Sheffield Wednesday) - in charge since 30/06/2015

The largley unknown Portuguese took over the Owls prior to this season following the summer departure of Stuart Gray.

Wednesday are currently sitting 11th in the Championship and shocked Premier League side Newcastle United in the Capital One Cup last week with a 1-0 victory at St James’ Park.

Rob Jones (Doncaster Rovers) - caretaker since 08/09/2015

Jones was placed in temporary charge following Paul Dickov’s sacking after a poor start to the League One season.

Fortunes have yet to improve for Donny, who will be desperate to get a permanent face in the hot seat soon.

Gareth McClelland (FC Halifax Town) - caretaker since 18/09/2015

Like Jones, McClelland was placed in temporary charge following last week’s departure of Neil Aspin.

He has failed to win his two games at the helm and the Shaymen need to get someone in quickly as they sit 23rd in the National League.

Rotherham United - Vacant

Steve Evans narrowly guided the Millers to safety following their promotion to the Championship the previous season.

They sit precariously above the relegation places after nine games of this campaign and need to find a replacement who will guide them away from danger.

Top 10 longest-serving managers in English football:

1. Arsene Wenger (Arsenal) since 28/09/1996

2. Paul Tisdale (Exeter City) since 26/06/2006

3. Karl Robinson (MK Dons) since 10/05/2010

4. Dean Smith (Walsall) since 21/01/2011

5. Jim Bentley (Morecambe) since 13/05/2011

6. Phil Parkinson (Bradford City) since 29/08/2011

7. Steve Davis (Crewe Alexandra) since 10/11/2011

8. Steve Bruce (Hull City) since 08/06/2012

9. Brendan Rodgers (Liverpool) since 01/07/2012

10. Gareth Ainsworth (Wycombe Wanderers) since 08/11/2012