Heavy Woollen: ’Thorpe take over at the top for the first time this season

Matthew Moon shoots wide for Woodkirk Valley against visiting Barr Street. PIC: Steve Riding
Matthew Moon shoots wide for Woodkirk Valley against visiting Barr Street. PIC: Steve Riding
Have your say

Overthorpe Sports Club lead the Heavy Woollen Sunday League Premier Division for the first time this season after recording a 3-1 win over Oakwell Motel in an entertaining game at Ings Lane.

Kristian Angus, Reece Patterson and Scott Hargreaves netted for Overthorpe, with Jonny Beverley replying for Oakwell.

Overthorpe are three points clear of both St John Fisher and Birkenshaw, but both have games in hand.

Mirfield Town require a single point from their remaining games to clinch the Championship title after they won 6-0 at Heckmondwike Sports Club.

Kieran Corley and Jonathan Mitchell both hit doubles for Mirfield, who also had Gibril Bojang and Chris Meesom on target.

Will Clapham hit four goals, Scott Love claimed a hat-trick and Carl Hackney also found the net as second-placed Woodkirk Valley won 8-1 against Barr Street. Lewis Tolson hit the Barr Street consolation.

Third-placed Mount Pleasant suffered a shock 2-1 defeat at lowly Taylor FC.

Ebrahim Seedat and Ahmed Seedat scored for Taylor, who climb off the foot of the table, with Mohammed Patel replying for Mount.

Sam Buswell and Daniel Holdsworth both netted in Marsh’s 2-1 win at Hartshead, who are now bottom of the division.

Division One leaders Navigation were held to a shock 3-3 draw by Overthorpe Sports Club Reserves.

Gavin Saville, Lee Bennett and Bobby Campbell were on target for Navigation, but strikes from Danny Marshall, Chris Walker and Craig Fryer earned a point for Overthorpe.

Birkenshaw Reserves are second on goal difference after two-goal Jack Rogerson, Ryan Hird and Phil Bell all found the net in a 4-0 win over Bay Horse East Ardsley.

Town Rangers lie in fourth place after goals from Richard Carter with a brace and Joe Wills saw them to a 3-1 win over Punch Bowl, who had Nathan Clarke on target.

Dale Joy bagged both goals as Deighton WMC won 2-1 against Dewsbury Westside, whilst Ben Simpson, with two, and Kalvin Whyte both netted in The Yorkshireman’s 3-2 win over Battyeford Reserves, who replied through Nigel Saddington and Robert Fleming.

FC Liversedge lead Division Two by five points following their 9-0 demolition of lowly Snowdon. Liam Downes led the way with a hat-trick, Kyle Smith grabbed a brace, with Lee McKeown, Jamie Fawcett, Mark Wigley and Brendan Soulsby also finding the net.

Second-placed Cobras weren’t in action, so Scholes Athletic consolidated their third place with a 5-3 win at Hanging Heaton CC.

Gareth Jones and Kieran Armitage both struck twice for Scholes, who also had Matthew Blackburn on the scoresheet.

Hanging Heaton replied through Chris Appleyard, Chris Goodair and Simon Woodhead.

Dave Barlow and Brad Jackson scored for Batley Celtics as they won 2-0 against Six Lane Ends, a result that sees them rise to fourth place.

Brook Butler Cup action takes centre-stage this coming weekend with St John Fisher Old Boys looking to build on Sunday’s 10-0 County Cup demolition of Peel Park when they host a cracker against Millbridge WMC.

Birkenshaw go to Oakwell Motel while Mirfield Town host Battyeford and Oakwell Motel entertain Birkenshaw. Championship leaders Mirfield Town are at home to Battyeford.