Heavy Woollen League: Birkenshaw on brink of breaking decade-long wait

Action from Black Horse v Heckmondwike ('100379f). PIC: Steve Riding
Action from Black Horse v Heckmondwike ('100379f). PIC: Steve Riding
Have your say

Birkenshaw took a huge stride towards winning their first Heavy Woollen Premier Division title since 2004 with a 3-0 win over bottom side Mirfield Town.

Joel Farrar bagged a brace and Andrew Wood netted the other in a win that sees Birkenshaw maintain their nine-point lead at the top.

Mirfield meanwhile are three points from safety following this defeat. St John Fisher lie second after Lee McKeown, Dominic Riordan and Jordan Pugh all scored in a 3-1 win at Overthorpe Sports Club, who replied through Ashley Hill.

Thornhill Lees climbed to fourth place after they beat Millbridge WMC 4-0 thanks to Elliott Williams (brace), Nathan Kemp and Liam Gowen. Woodman Batley Carr moved closer to safety after hammering Towngate 11-5, despite five goals from Towngate’s Ashley Flynn.

Battyeford maintained their two-point lead at the top of the Championship after they won 10-2 against mid-table Barr Street (Lewis Tolson, Luke Sansby).

Oakwell Motel are second after Johnny Beverley (four), Gary Foley (two) and Jermaine Davies all scored in a 7-0 win over St John Fisher Reserves. Both Battyeford and Oakwell are already promoted, but each have just one game left to decide who will be champions.

Relegated Gomersal won only their second league game of the season after Andy Kaye, George Deegan, Kieran Armitage and Ryan Kitson all netted in a 4-2 win over Northorpe United.

Division One champions Heckmondwike Sports Club finished their league season in style with a 4-2 win at third placed White Horse. Mark Claughton led the way with a brace, with Ashton Vlahovic and Ross Palframan also finding the net. Alan Nicholls bagged both goals for White Horse.

Birkenshaw Reserves leapt up to second place after Jack Rogerson (two), Ashley Thompson, Marc Trapps and Phil Bell all scored in a 5-0 win over Bay Horse East Ardsley, who are relegated.

Mount Pleasant still have a chance of promotion having two games still to play, and being only two points behind Birkenshaw, after Mohammed Pandor, Adam Rawat, Muhammed Omar and Raees Lorgat all netted in a 4-2 win over Battyeford Reserves. A further place back, and still with an outside chance of promotion are Saville Arms, who won 5-3 at bottom side Hightown.

Dave Blakeley, Nick Watmuff, Danny McKenzie, Chris Smith and Tom Heaton scored for Saville, with relegated Hightown replying through Duane Fascione and Tim Tommis.

Woodkirk Valley clinched the Division Two title after edging out their nearest rivals Clifton Rangers in a tight 4-3 win thanks to a hat-trick from Mark McDermott and a strike from Gavin Huxall. Both teams are promoted after third-placed Punch Bowl lost 4-2 against Black Horse. Greame Smith, Danny Stocks, Jason Elliott and Matt Dacre scored for Black Horse, with Nathan Clarke hitting both goals for Punch Bowl.

Overthorpe Sports Club Reserves enjoyed a 6-1 win at Scholes Athletic thanks to a hat-trick from Craig Fryer, plus strikes from Martin Firth, Sean Hodgson and Tom Hirst. Dean Comins hit Scholes’ consolation.

St Ignatius climbed out of the drop zone and relegated fellow strugglers Batley Celtics after beating them 5-2. Christian Rushforth (brace), Bunn Darboe, Lloyd Bonsels and an own goal accounted for St Ignatius’ tally, with Danny Farnhill and Ronan Marriner replying for the doomed Batley side.

Dewsbury Westside lead Division Three by three points after they won 3-1 against Gomersal West (Chris Rodwell).

James Hutchinson, Chris Wilson, Scott Thornton and Ross Hawkroyd all scored as second-placed Town Rangers won 4-0 against bottom side Black Horse Reserves.

No-one, as yet, has been promoted from Division Three as both leading sides can still be caught by Hanging Heaton Cricket Club who have five games still to play.

Beeston St Anthony's star stopper, Alex Houghton. PIC: Beeston SA

Park Life with Lee Sobot: Ice-cold Alex stars in and out of goal for Saints