Leeds United: McCormack humbled by inclusion in PFA team

Ross McCormack
Ross McCormack
Have your say

LEEDS UNITED top gun Ross McCormack admits to being ‘humbled’ at recognition by his peers after being named in the PFA’s Championship Team of the Year.

The 29-goal striker, who has one more opportunity this term to reach a seasonal milestone of 30 goals, in United’s final-day home clash with Derby County on Saturday, was honoured at a glittering awards ceremony at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel.

It was fitting recognition for a vintage 2013-14 campaign, a season which saw the Scot named as the Football League Player of the Month for November and also be nominated for the award in February. The other forward named in the select PFA Championship line-up was Burnley hot-shot Danny Ings.

McCormack is likely to be crowned as the Championship’s top league scorer for the season this coming weekend, having plundered 28 goals, four more than nearest rival Jordan Rhodes with one game to go.

The Blackburn frontman missed out to McCormack and Ings in being named in the PFA side, which included three representatives from the promoted duo of Leicester City and Burnley.

On his own personal accolade, McCormack tweeted; “Thanks for all the messages.Really humbled to be in the team of the year.”

Boss Brian McDermott added: “I’ve been proud of Ross this year. He is the captain. Twenty-nine goals overall this season is phenomenal.”

Former Whites custodian Kasper Schmeichel was named as the goalkeeper in the Championship XI, with fellow Foxes team-mates Wes Morgan and Danny Drinkwater also earning a place.

Burnley’s representatives were Kieran Trippier, Jason Shackell and Ings, with Derby midfield pair Will Hughes and Craig Bryson also chosen along with Ipswich’s Aaron Cresswell and Nottingham Forest’s Andy Reid.

McCormack is hoping to become the first player since Jermaine Beckford to hit the 30-goal barrier for the season this weekend, with the Londoner achieving that in 2009-10 and 2008-09.

McCormack’s PFA vote was the first time a United player had received recognition since Patrick Kisnorbo and Robert Snodgrass were named in the PFA League One Team of the Year in 2090-10 following on from Fabian Delph (2008-09) and Beckford (2007-08).

The Scot is expected to claim a host of accolades at the club’s official Player of the Year awards evening on Saturday, having already been named as the LUSC (Leeds United Supporters Club) Player of the Year and LUDO (Leeds United Disabled Association) Player of the Year.

Mallik Wilkes

Striker Wilks nets on return to Leeds United - but Whites slip to defeat