Wetherby League: Two out of three ain’t bad for Wetherby

Tom Hudson of Wetherby takes a single.
Tom Hudson of Wetherby takes a single.
Share this article
Have your say

WETHERBY have lifted the Division One title for the second time in three years.

They clinched top spot on Saturday when they ended Barwick in Elmet’s 15-match winning run and closest rivals Great Preston lost to St Chad’s.

It gave Wetherby an unassailable seven point lead over Preston ahead of Saturday’s final matches.

Tom Hudson (59), Paul Horsey (34), Syed Ahmed (3-30) and Ian Twitchen (3-31) were Wetherby’s match-winners as they ruined third-placed Barwick’s hopes of completing a clean sweep of the league’s three major trophies.

Wetherby lost their overseas player Jacob Brewer midway through the season when he returned to Australia for personal reasons but their title bid was boosted by the signing of all-rounder Mansoor Hussain from Walton at the end of July.

“It has been an excellent achievement to win the title,” said Wetherby vice-captain Neil Thomas.

“We only took over top spot five or five weeks ago. We’ve been behind Great Preston for most of the year.

“We didn’t have an overseas player for the second-half of the season but bringing in Manny Hussain helped a lot.”

Last year’s champions Preston, who were chasing three trophies in July, have finished empty-handed before they switch to the Central Yorkshire League.

Tim Patterson (80no) and Ewan Brannan (34) guided St Chad’s to a five-wicket win after Atiq Khan (3-34) and Sultan Mehmood (3-26) restricted Preston to 149.

Brothers Andy and Steve Wood shone as Sicklinghall’s revival continued with their third victory in four matches.

Steve Wood (4-25) and Dan Holmes (3-10) skittled Kirk Deighton for 65, replying to Sicklinghall’s 169 that featured 95 by Andy Wood.

Graham Dickson (7-9) produced Saturday’s outstanding bowling performance as Old Leodiensians ended a six-match losing run by beating Shadwell by one wicket.

James Hart (3-24), Ben Turner (3-34) and Adam Elliott (33) were best for Shadwell.

Scarcroft’s Damian Aston hammered an unbeaten 94 off 45 balls against Old Modernians in the top-flight’s highest total this season of 295-6 which also included 78 by Peter Hynes and 71 from Matthew Ansell.

Ghulam Hussain (3-33), Shoaib Rehman (3-23) and Aaron Shackleford (3-44) bowled out Modernians for 142.

Phil Atkinson (54) and Ian Hutchison (4-26) led Bilton in Ainsty to victory at relegated Walton who are still without a league win this season.

Scholes sealed the Division Two title by crushing closest rivals Garforth Parish Church who were skittled for 60 by Mark Sirrell (7-19).

Garforth and Church Fenton are vying for the second promotion spot on the final day.

Fenton, who visit Ledsham, are one point ahead of Garforth who host Hillam.

Skipper Kendal Edgley struck 86 and Thomas Dean bagged 4-30 as Fenton climbed to second by trouncing Whixley. Hillam’s promotion hopes ended with a two-wicket defeat against Ledsham for whom Andy Baron hit 49 and his son Ollie 38.

Relegated Crossgates lost by 80 runs at Thorner Mexborough when Bilal Sabir (6-22) and Ali Muhammed (4-23) routed them for 46.

Openers Matthew Ball (59no) and Liam Bishop (58no) shared an unbroken 133-run stand in Saxton’s 10-wicket success against Kirk Hammerton.

St Chad’s A and Headingley Bramhope are vying for the Division Three championship.

St Chad’s, who visit Long Marston on Saturday, are three points ahead of Headingley, who host Green Hammerton.

ready to spin in?: Yorkshire's Azeem Rafiq.

Jury is out as Yorkshire weigh up four-day spin options