Wetherby League: Champions Wetherby in a heavy opening defeat

Action from Shadwell v St Chad's.
Action from Shadwell v St Chad's.
Have your say

WETHERBY’S hopes of retaining the Division One title in their final season before they switch to the York Senior League suffered an early setback.

They were routed for 118 in an 84-run home defeat against Bilton in Ainsty, for whom opener Miles Lloyd struck 58 and Australian Thomas Reece 35.

Andrew Twitchen (39) and new captain Tom Hudson (31) led Wetherby’s scoring.

Barwick in Elmet resumed where they left off last year when they lost just one of 16 league and cup matches in the second-half of the season.

Mathew Wood (56), Chris Harrison (42) and Andy Styan (3-20) led last season’s championship runnners-up Barwick to an 82-run opening day win over Sicklinghall.

Steve Wood (33no) and brother Andy (3-34) were Sicklinghall’s best performers.

Kirk Deighton made a flying start in their bid to lift the league title for the first time.

Captain Richard Ward (101) and Jamie Crooks (96) shared a 170-run stand for the third wicket as Deighton posted 280-8 against Old Leodiensians who were skittled for 29 by Jonathan Watkins (6-10) and Mark Harland (3-0).

Stuart Turner hammered an unbeaten century as former league champions Church Fenton marked their return to the top-flight by beating Scholes in the clash of the promoted teams.

Rob Love (4-34) and Simon Wilman (2-15) limited Scholes to 180-9 which included 38 by Jon Collier. Turner shared an opening 130-run partnership with captain Kendall Edgley (57) as Fenton knocked off the runs.

Nick Revell hit a century and Tim Patterson 78 as St Chad’s piled up 267-5 at Shadwell whose reply fell 82 runs short, despite Ed Whittingham’s 65 and James Proctor’s 49. Oliver Tenwick claimed 5-30 for St Chad’s.

James Allinson (50), Michael Fisher (39) and Andy Conboy (4-52) gave Garforth Parish Church the upper hand at Scarcroft, for whom Richard Stephens (77) top-scored.

Last season’s Division Three champions Headingley Bramhope are aiming to go up for a second successive year.

They coasted to a 10-wicket win against Thorner Mexborough who were routed for 44 by Tom Atkinson (4-14), Asif Sharif (3-14) and David Crutchley (2-14). Andy Baron (30) and Andrew Kelly (26 and 4-24) were Ledsham’s match-winners against Crossgates whose three wicket loss was tough on opener Adam Heslop (60).

Hillam and Monk Fryston were toppled for 124 by Saxton’s John Potter (3-11) and Phil Chaston (2-2) but they were rescued by William Vaks, Jeremy McFarlane and Michael Jarvis who each claimed three wickets to skittle Saxton for 76.