Vigars delighted as Brook hold nerve in final victory

Mark Robinson of Brook-Walton
Mark Robinson of Brook-Walton
Have your say

SOUTH Kirkby’s hopes of repeating last season’s Pontefract league and cup double ended when they lost Sunday’s Dyson-Skidmore Trophy final at Ackworth.

Division Two side Brook-Walton won the league’s major knockout competition in only their second season with a thrilling three-run win.

Chasing Brook’s 145, holders South Kirkby needed 13 runs for victory off the final over but managed only nine and finished on 142-9.

Brook captain Richard Vigars said: “Our total was 15 to 20 runs short of what we wanted but it was still a challenging score if we bowled well as a team and, luckily, we did.

“We picked up wickets regularly and that kept us in the game. We kept it very tight in the last 10 overs and worked very hard.”

Alwyn Dyke (35 and 2-39) and Kevin Watson (3-16) shone for Brook while Brayden Clark (35) and captain Dave Rollin (4-34) were Kirkby’s best performers.

It was a doubly disappointing weekend for league champions Kirkby, who lost top spot in Division One the previous day when they conceded a league double to title rivals Fairburn.

Guy Abdy (5-27) reduced Kirkby to 42-6 before Ritchie Bresnan (63) and Nick Percival (32no) put on 97 to guide them to 153-8.

Ryan Greatrick struck 62 and Jake Abdy 38 as Fairburn knocked off the runs with five balls remaining to move one point clear of Kirkby.

Third-placed Monk Bretton’s title hopes ended with a four-wicket defeat at Streethouse that left them 19 points adrift of the leaders.

Half-centuries by captain Damian Bowles and Johannes Van Ee helped Streethouse overhaul Monk Bretton’s 226-7, featuring a century by Lee Ogden.

West Bretton’s chances of avoiding relegation were boosted when Chris Degnan (5-34) and David Hoyle (44) led them to a four-wicket victory at Frickley and fellow strugglers Fishlake lost at Old Sharlston.

Rob Simpson (5-38), Jason Ball (3-21), Tom Craig (47) and Byron Dean (32no) were Sharlston’s match-winners.

Brook-Walton host Sandal on the final day on September 12 in what could be a Division Two title decider.

Sandal retained a three-point lead over Brook when openers Danny Riley (50no) and Karl Hewitt (34) guided them to a nine-wicket victory against Glasshoughton, who were toppled for 121 by Sam Noden (4-31).

Brook comfortably beat Allerton Bywater who were skittled for 31 by Alex Mumford (5-15) and Kevin Watson (4-9).

Knottingley eased relegation worries when Edward Wilson (4-23), James Pugh (2-27) and Andrew Lund (2-19) gave them the edge against Barnby Dun.