Shadwell aiming to end 68-year wait for the title

Ben Turner of Shadwell scores runs
Ben Turner of Shadwell scores runs
Have your say

SHADWELL stepped up their bid to lift the Division One championship for the first time since 1947 with their sixth straight league win.

Ed Whittingham hammered 120 off 96 balls and Cody McGrath hit 66 as Shadwell piled up 315-7 against title rivals St Chad’s who were toppled for 252 by Harry Smoothy (6-36).

Tim Patterson (86), Howard Johnson (51) and Matthew Stevens (48) led the St Chad’s scoring.

Third-placed Shadwell are eight points adrift of leaders Kirk Deighton who are aiming to be crowned league champions for the first time after being runners up in 2012 and 2013.

Matt Wills contributed 113 and Jamie Crooks 57 to Deighton’s total of 308-7 at Old Leodiensians who were bowled out for 194 by Robert Barker (6-42), despite Stuart Cobbett’s 69 and Andy Guest’s 44.

Sicklinghall’s revival continued when Adam Ryszkowski (6-34) and George Barton 
(4-21) skittled Barwick in Elmet for 84. Garforth Parish Church ended a three-match losing run when James Baldwin (74) and Michael Fisher (45) steered them to a 35-run win against Scarcroft whose top scorer was Damian Aston (64).

Strugglers Scholes and Wetherby both lost.

Kristian Bade’s 75 was in vain as Scholes fell for 129 in a four-wicket defeat against Church Fenton.

Tom Reece hit an unbeaten 63 and Miles Lloyd 42 as Bilton in Ainsty overhauled defending champions Wetherby’s 158 that included 64 by Paul Horsey and 49 from Andy Twitchen. Division Two pacesetters Hillam-Monk Fryston increased their lead to nine points when they beat Saxton and closest rivals South Milford lost to Kirk Hammerton. Adrian Joynson (68) guided Hillam to a four-wicket win after Olly Baron (3-11), Jeremy McFarlane (2-27), David Venables (2-22) and William Vaks (2-35) had limited Saxton to 149.

Alex Bramley’s 99 gave Kirk Hammerton the edge at South Milford whose best performers were Alex Ward (66), Ben White (5-44) and Sam Thomas (4-37).

East Keswick, Headingley Bramhope and Ledsham stayed in the promotion hunt by collecting maximum points.

Wahab Hussain (6-18) routed St Chad’s A for 77 after Bilal Shahid (40) and Kashef Rehman (36) had steered East Keswick to 163. Half centuries by Matt Williams and Stephen Gilks helped Headingley Bramhope post 206-9 at Thorner Mexborough whose reply fell 63 runs short, despite opener Muhammed Ali’s 60.

All-rounder Jonny Smales (55no and 5-24) was Ledsham’s match-winner against Crossgates whose defeat was hard on Adam Heslop (60).