Pontefract League: Unbeaten South Kirkby set for Dyson-Skidmore Trophy defence

Rothwell's Tony Gardner strokes the ball away for four against Brook-Walton.
Rothwell's Tony Gardner strokes the ball away for four against Brook-Walton.
Have your say

DIVISION One champions South Kirkby, aiming to repeat last year’s clean sweep of trophies, start their defence of the Dyson-Skidmore Trophy with a home tie against Featherstone on Sunday.

New signing Richie Bresnan – younger brother of Yorkshire and England star Tim – claimed 7-37 and skipper Dave Rollin 3-21 as they continued their unbeaten start by defeating lowly Nostell.

Sunday’s other first-round ties are West Bretton v Sandal, Old Sharlston v Knottingley, Ackworth v Barnby Dun, Allerton Bywater v Askern, Nostell v Fairburn, Hooton Pagnell v Frickley and Hatfield v Monk Bretton.

Nostell will hope to put their poor league form behind them when they visit table-toppers Fairburn who have a four-point lead over South Kirkby and Old Sharlston. Guy Abdy bagged 3-30 and his brother Jake hit 46 in Fairburn’s three-wicket win against Monk Bretton. Tom Craig and Ryan Kelsall struck half centuries in Sharlston’s 191-6 against Frickley who managed only 128 in reply, despite Mohammed Shoaib’s battling 38.

Mohammed Bashir’s unbeaten 62 was in vain for Streethouse in a 65-run defeat at Ackworth, for whom Connor Hyde hit 44 and Darren Hyde snapped up 3-9.

Wakefield teams Brook-Walton and Sandal are among the Division Two pacesetters. Danny Riley smashed a second successive century and Karl Hewitt hammered an unbeaten 75 to steer Sandal to a nine-wicket victory against Allerton Bywater while Ryan Lethbridge (94no) and Gary Proudley (45) gave last season’s Division Three champions Brook-Walton the edge at Rothwell. Rothwell’s defeat was tough on in-form Andy Humphreys (89) who has scored 250 runs in their first three matches.

Featherstone slumped to a third straight defeat when they lost a low-scoring game at Knottingley. David Hiorns (4-29) and Mark Swales (3-35) routed Knottingley for 98 but they were rescued by Craig Larrington (7-18) and James Pugh (3-8) who skittled Featherstone for 31, with captain Danny Robinson (11) the only batsman reaching double figures.

Promoted Glasshoughton were indebted to Rob Sperrin (103) and Alex Clemo (53) for their first win of the season against Hatfield.

David Jaques (43) and Richard Cooper (33) were Crofton’s best performers in a seven-wicket defeat at Barnby Dun.

Steven Rigby hit 48 and Peter Ferguson and Sam Malyan each claimed three wickets as Division Three promotion contenders Hundhill Hall recorded their third straight win by beating Thurnscoe.

Sunday’s AJS Teamwear Trophy first round ties are Notton v Crigglestone, Bentley v Ferrybridge, Fenwick v Sykehouse, Thorpe Audlin v Darton, Kilnhurst v Ackworth A, Hensall v Bullcroft Main, Brodsworth v Thurnscoe and Yorkshire Main v Newton Hill.