Pontefract League: Hepworth is quick to spin in

Steve Secker
Steve Secker
Have your say

ACKWORTH were the only one of last season’s top three Division One teams to make a winning start.

Joe Seddon (61no) and Dale Longfield (44) led Ackworth to a seven-wicket victory at Monk Bretton, who were restricted to 154-8 by former Leicestershire county spinner Peter Hepworth (5-17).

Defending champions Old Sharlston lost by 101 runs at South Kirkby.

Dave Rollin (3-25), Brayden Clark (2-27) and Max Heritage (2-27) toppled Sharlston for 111, replying to Kirkby’s 212-4 that featured a 140-run stand between Steve Secker (pictured) and Dale Woolsey, who each hit 69.

Fairburn, aiming to lift the title for the second time in three seasons, beat Streethouse by 47 runs, thanks to Paul Clark (5-23) and Craig Piggott (40).

Jonathan Hughes (40) and Ismail Patel (4-38) were best for Streethouse, who could be hard pressed to improve on last season’s third-placed finish after losing key players.

Last season’s Division Two champions Wombwell Main could be dark horses for the Division One title after strengthening their team.

They coasted to an eight-wicket win against Frickley Colliery, who fell for 99, despite Inderjit Hayre’s 45.

Nostell, the other promoted side, lost a low-scoring game at Fishlake. Their two-wicket defeat was tough on Lee Hurst (5-26), who was last season’s leading wicket-taker in Division Two.

Featherstone and Rothwell aim for a swift return to the top-flight after relegation last season.

Jason Picken (57no) and Adam Perry (33no) guided Featherstone to an eight-wicket win at Crofton, who managed only 123.

John Lumb (47no) and Simon Booth (37no) shared an unbroken 65-run stand in Rothwell’s nine-wicket success against Knottingley, who were routed for 117 by Richard Hopwood (6-34) and Tom Steel (3-24).

UP FOR SELECTION: England's Ben Stokes. Picture: John Walton/PA

Ben Stokes cleared to play for England by ECB