Pontefract League: Abdy brothers strike as Fairburn close in on title

Guy Abdy
Guy Abdy
Have your say

FAIRBURN are set to lift the Division One championship for the second time in four seasons.

They need 11 points from their final two matches against Askern and Ackworth to be certain of finishing top.

Craig Piggott (45no) and James Clegg (29no) steered leaders Fairburn to an eight-wicket win against Old Sharlston, who were bowled out for 115 by Jake Abdy (5-28) and brother Guy (3-21).

Fairburn are 10 points clear of closest rivals South Kirkby, whose hopes of retaining the title faded when they lost by 55 runs at third-placed Monk Bretton.

Johannes Van Ee (5-24), Damien Bowles (2-5) and Scott Bland (2-27) gave Streethouse the edge in a low-scoring game at Hooton Pagnell, for whom Steve Hardaker bagged 4-24.

Jonny Winwood smashed five sixes and 21 fours in a magnificent 157 as West Bretton beat bottom team Nostell by 289 runs.

Chasing Bretton’s 330-4 that also included 64 by John Day, Nostell were skittled for 41 by Chris Degnan (4-10) and Matthew Rushforth (4-23).

Dyson-Skidmore Trophy winners Brook-Walton are on course for a league and cup double. They took a seven-point lead in Division Two when they beat Featherstone and title rivals Sandal lost at Barnby Dun.

Alwyn Dyke hit 125 off 105 balls and put on 111 with Mark Robinson (44) as Brook piled up 249-5, which also included an unbeaten 42 by captain Richard Vigars.

Captain Adam Perry’s 46 was in vain for Featherstone, who were toppled by 157 by Dyke (4-19) and Kevin Watson (3-23).

Sandal’s Lee Geldard (5-50) restricted Barnby to 161 but the Wakefield team managed only 97, despite opener Karl Hewitt’s 44.

Sandal lost again next day to Sheffield Collegiate in the Supplementary Yorkshire Council Championship final at Carlton.

Matthew Westwood (71no) and Kristian Shuttleworth (31) guided Sandal to 192-7 and although Geldard (4-34) and Sam Noden (2-40) reduced Collegiate’s reply to 93-5, the South Yorkshire League side recovered to claim a four-wicket win.

Alex Clemo (94), Chris Sherriff (42) and Rob Sperrin (36) led Glasshoughton to 226-7 against Rothwell, who were dismissed for 123 by Jordan Mills (3-33) and Craig Bryant (3-42).

Captain Simon Booth (31) was Rothwell’s top scorer after none of their first five batsmen reached double figures.

Usman Bashir (3-28 and 28), Jacob Wright (3-16 and 25) and Gareth Portman (3-9) were lowly Allerton Bywater’s match-winners at Stainborough.