Nidderdale League: Killinghall lay down an early marker with highest score of day

Will Wray bowling for Bishop Thornton against Hampsthwaite.
Will Wray bowling for Bishop Thornton against Hampsthwaite.
Have your say

KILLINGHALL signalled their Division One title intent with the highest score in Division One leading to Saturday’s 99-run blitz of Blubberhouses.

Opener Matt Williams hit 23 boundaries in his 137 before captain Simon Williams blasted an unbeaten 102 to lead his side to 303-4 at tea.

Overseas ace Dylan Jacotine then snaffled four wickets as Blubbs’ totalled 204 all out, with Lee Platts (83) and John Wilkinson (56) providing resistance.

On their return to the top tier, Darly made light work of Hampsthwaite to win by seven wickets.

Rob Hainsworth’s 4-33 helped knock Hamps over for 155, a total Darley eased to inside 20 overs. Overseas batsman Noushad Babu thrashed 86 from the top of the order to give Darley a simple win.

Fellow Division One newcomers, Newby Hall, had worse fortunes as they fell 17 runs short of chasing down Alne’s 199-9.

Luke Vincent’s 91-ball century proved crucial for Alne, who had Shaun Fouldes (4-46) and Peter Carr (4-59) to thank for obliterating the hosts batting card. Only wicketkeeper Dave Wallis (102no) withstood the pressure but his efforts went unrewarded as he ran out of partners.

Spofforth, the 2013 champions, set a benchmark with a successful five-wicket chase at Bishop Thornton. Thornton set an imposing 244-8 after Will Wray’s 81, but Spofforth hot-footed their way to the total thanks to Jonathan Ross’ 84. Joe Horne and Craig Hunt’s crucial 62-run sixth-wicket partnership saw them across the line.

Burton Leonard demonstrated their strength in all areas with a dominant dismissal of Helperby by 10 wickets.

Nicky Smith (4-28) ripped through Helperby’s order as they made a sorry 104 all out and Leonard’s openers James Townsend (74no) and Ben Robinson (23no) had no issues chasing it down in 18.5 overs.