Nidderdale League: Veteran opening bowler ‘masterminds’ victory over champions

Wilf Wigglesworth. PIC: Barry Gill
Wilf Wigglesworth. PIC: Barry Gill
Have your say

In his 70th season of cricket, Wilf Wigglesworth took up the captaincy of the Burton Leonard first team on the final day of the 2016 season, masterminding a victory over champions Ouseburn.

Wigglesworth opened the bowling for the Division One outfit and returned figures of 0-11 from his two overs.

Opening partner Max Crompton (5-32) did damage at the other end as the title winners were bowled out for 243, with skipper Dave Cummings signing off with 132.

Australian Nicky Smith was promoted to open the batting for Leonard and made 20 while Mike Stansfield (49) and Tom Rowlay (69no) helped Burton swoop past the target with nine overs to spare.

Jamie Bryant completed a good season with the ball and his 4-39 took him to 47 wickets at 17.04 for the season.

Elsewhere in Division One, Darley overcame second-placed Birstwith by four wickets thanks to 87 not out from Joe Furniss, while Spofforth amassed 341-7 at home to Alne (228-7) courtesy of centuries for Nick Robinson (100) and Andrew Bottega (168).

Hampsthwaite (181) lost to Helperby (186-5), West Tanfield (187-1) thrashed Knaresborough Forest (119) and Pateley Bridge (192-6) beat relegation rivals Bisop Thornton (189)

More was at stake in Division Two where six teams could possibly have joined Thornton-le-Moor in the relegation to Division Three.

Dacre Banks set Newby Hall 197 to win after Steve Ellison hit 73 but Dacre Banks wanted Division Two status and Waqas Rasheed took 5-9 and Mark Peachey 4-39 to bowl Newby out for just 74.

Charles Edmondson took 5-58 for Harrogate Strays as Studley Royal 2nds posted 240-9 Lewis Day top scored with 60.

It wasn’t to be for Strays as Michael Litterbach 4-41 and Lewis Day 4-71 blew them away for 198. Jordan Marshall hit 99.

Ripley lost too and there must have been some nervous souls as all 20 wickets fell at the Ingilby Oval.

Blubberhouses were dismissed for 139, Nat Cutts taking 4-26. Bash Khan top-scored with 50 for the visitors.

In reply, Ripley could only manage 92 all out. Aamir Rehman took 4-40 and Micah Campbell 3-15. Scotton took six points from Thornton-le-Moor to survive the drop meaning Harrogate Strays went down by one point and Ripley survived by the skin of their teeth.

Elsewhere, Goldsborough beat Raskelf and Damon Ive ended the season as leading runs scorer for Division Two with 1048.

In Division Three, Wath and Melmerby finished the season off in some style by posting 390-5 at Bishop Monkton to take the title.

Tom Graham 100 and Dan Harris 112 did the damage.

Burnt Yates will be joining Wath in Division Two as they took six points at home to South Kilvington. Yates made 253-7 with Shaun Brockhill 92 and Chris Triggs 54 but they didn’t have it all their own way as James Thompson took 4-45.

Carl Brockhill then took 5-21 and Richard Smale 3-40 to bundle South Kilvington out for 119.

Rainton did the great escape at the bottom of the table as they beat Whixley by 40 runs. Ripon 2nds beat Pannal 2nds but it wasn’t enough to save the Ripon side who were relegated.

Boroughbridge and Staveley were crowned champions of Division Four and will be joined by Killinghall, who bettered Thorton Watlass by net run rate.

There was a straight fight between Masham 2nds and Studley Royal 3rds at the bottom for the final relegation place and as it turned out they finished level on 38 points.

Masham 2s lost but that meant Studley 3rds could stay up if they won, which they did by one wicket and with two balls to spare in a dramatic finish.

Masham 2nds go through the trapdoor with a worse nett run rate.

North Stainley have had a good year in Division Five and take the title from Sessay 3rds who finish in second. James Donaldson signed off the 2016 campaign with 213 not out and 1004 runs for the season.

Division Six ended badly for Middleham 2nds were forced to concede their final game and with Pannal 3rds beating Knaresborough Forest 3rds, it consigned them to Division Seven cricket.

Pannal Ash were also relegated.

Spennithorne and Harmby have had a cracking season winning 16 games and finishing on 103 points to be crowned champions.

West Tanfield are clear champions in Division Seven while Rainton 2nds were confirmed as relegated. Other places remain in the balance over with a dispute over ineligible players.

Scotton 2nds are champions and promoted from Division Eight alongside North Stainley 2nds.


Philip Schofield was the star of the show as Bilton-in-Ainsty secured a second-place finish in the Wetherby League.

The namesake of the famous television presenter scored a century in Bilton’s comfortable seven-wicket chase of South Milford, sharing a massive partnership with Australian Luke Schumann.

Three players – Ben White, Stuart Morley and Billy Thompson – had all had their wickets taken on 42 as Milford amounted 194-7 batting first.

The competitive total was no problem for the visitors, however, as Schofield made 113 and Schumann 48 not out.

With one week of the season remaining, Bilton are now eight points clear of third-placed Scarcroft, who edged Hillam and Monk Frystan in a low-scoing affair. Scarcroft were staring down the barrel after being dismissed for 97 but Anas Imtiaz took 5-40 and Alistair Maiden 4-15 as Hillam and Monk Fryston fell six runs short. With the title already secure, Kirk Deighton slipped up at Old Leodiensians in a 50-run defeat. Tash Henry’s score of 69 took Leos up to 183-9 and Chris Mann added four wickets as the champions were bowled out for a meagre 133.

Elsewhere, fourth-placed Barwick-in-Elmet (188-7) downed St Chad’s Broomfield (138-8) by 50 runs thanks to four wickets and 21 runs from opener Nick Swales.

Shadwell finished with a six in beating Garforth Parish Church (132-9) by five wickets, Ben Turner claiming figures of 4-28.

Relegated Church Fenton crashed to a 106-run defeat at home to Sicklinghall, who racked up 260-6. Richard Brooke fell two runs short of a century while Rom Ryszkowski added 47 for the visitors. enton were all out for 154. Dan Gunnell produced the performance of the day for Division Two champions Rufforth with a maiden century and five wickets. Gunnell scored more than half of Rufforth’s score with an unbeaten 105 at St Chad’s before his five-for bowled the hosts out for 144, 56 runs short of Rufforth’s 200-6.

Headingley Bramhope closed within a point of Ledsham in second following a nine-wicket win at Thorner Mexborough. Matt Williams (54) and Ian Rogers (48no) shared a century partnership in overcoming Thorner’s 120. Anjum Bilal Sabir scored 54 for Thorner.

Ledsham missed a chance to secure promotion in a 69-run defeat at Scholes. James Biscombe’s 43 and 3-25 proved crucial for the hosts as Ledsham failed to chase 216-9.

Meanwhile, Saxton (215) battered Kirk Hammerton (90) while Meanwood (215-4) thrashed basement boys Garforth Parish Church A (39-9).