Leaders are Fair game for Fev now

Have your say

FEATHERSTONE boosted their chances of lifting the Division One title for the first time for 63 years by climbing to second place with an 11-run win at Ackworth.

David Hiorns (5-20) and Danny Robinson (3-13) skittled Ackworth for 75 after Craig Walker (5-30) and Kevin Marshall (3-20) had toppled Featherstone for 86.

Featherstone are 13 points adrift of leaders Fairburn, who beat former pacesetters Monk Bretton.

Ian Jones (41) led Fairburn to a five-wicket win after Simon Abdy (3-17) and Paul Clark (3-24) bowled out Monk Bretton for 97.

Defending champions Streethouse’s bid to win the title for the 11th time in 14 seasons was rocked by a shock home defeat against
strugglers Stainborough. Ismail
Patel (4-42) limited Stainborough to 180-5 but Streethouse managed only 92 in reply.

Streethouse, aiming to reach the National Village Cup final at Lord’s for the second time in four seasons, will hope to bounce back when they visit Woodhouse Grange in Sunday’s quarter-final.

Crofton and Nostell slipped deeper into relegation trouble on Saturday.


Old Sharlston’s Wayne Walker (4-34) and Jason Ball (3-14) routed
Nostell for 80, replying to 140-9.

And Andy Humphries (61), John Lumb (53) and Simon Booth (45) steered Rothwell to 197-7 at Crofton, whose reply was kept at 131-9 by
Simon Old (7-41).

Graham Paish (4-29) and
David Hoyle (43) were Crofton’s best

South Kirkby stayed on course to win the Division Two championship by beating Whitley Bridge in a 41-over match.

A century stand between Jake Rimmington (73) and Liam Rollin (51) guided Kirkby to 206-5 and
Whitley replied with 178-9.

Kirkby are 21 points clear of
closest rivals Hooton Pagnell, who won by 64 runs at Hemsworth thanks to Steve Hardaker (54no), Mick Grace (44) and Charlie Kaye (4-28).

Knottingley retained a 14-point lead over Sandal in Division Three when all-rounder Steve Mowbray (61 and 3-35) gave them the edge at
Frickley Colliery A.

Streethouse A maintained their promotion challenge by crushing strugglers Allerton Bywater, who were routed for 49 by Kevin Thurlow (6-16) and Damien Bowles (4-9).

Division Four title favourites Hundhill Hall scraped a two-run win against Fishlake A.

Tail-ender Sam Malyan hit an unbeaten 39 as Hundhill recovered from 102-8 to post 152 and Peter Ferguson (6-8) sent Fishlake’s reply
collapsing from 143-5 to 150 all out.

Hundhill and Knottingley meet in the Farmery Florist Trophy final at Hemsworth on Sunday.

Rothwell and Old Sharlston
contest the Dyson-Skidmore Trophy final at Ackworth on August 5. In Sunday’s semi-finals, Old Sharlston beat Fishlake by seven wickets and Rothwell won by one wicket at South Kirkby.

I'M YOUR MAN: Liam Plunkett, seen in action against Somerset last year, is hoping to play a significant role for Yorkshire across all formats this season. Picture: Allan McKenzie/SWpix.com.

Yorkshire not lacking in candidates to stake big claim for 2018