Davies in confident mood as title showdown looms

Kirkstall's Stephen Brown is caught behind at Aire-Wharfe rivals Beckwithshaw.
Kirkstall's Stephen Brown is caught behind at Aire-Wharfe rivals Beckwithshaw.
Have your say

Otley thrashed Follifoot by 165 runs to move top of Division One three points ahead of Beckwithshaw, who dropped points away to Kirkstall.

Half-centuries from James Pickering (56), Dave Hester (51) and James Davies (63) helped Otley to 246 all out.

Davies’s innings were particularly impressive with his 63 coming off 64 balls.

Follifoot got off to an awful start as they were 4-17 after just nine overs. The bottom side could only manage 81 all out in return to give Otley the maximum amount of points.

Captain James Davies, who was awarded the ‘Man of the Match’ award, believes this victory gives his side a great chance of securing the title. “It was a good solid victory, the top order did really well and set me and the others up nicely.

“So when I came in later on we were already in a good position to set a high score.”

Otley now face title rivals Beckwithshaw in what should be a tight match. “They are a very good side with good individual players so it will be a tough game.

“Our aim is again to win the title as we did the double last season but there are a couple of good sides up there this year,” believes Davies.

Beckwithshaw dropped points at Kirkstall with an incomplete eight-wicket success. Kirkstall recorded 179-9 and Beckwithshaw came back with 180-2.

Ryan Bradshaw’s century helped Bilton move up to third with a 171-run victory over Steeton. The hosts elected to bat and set Steeton a target of 304-8 after Bradshaw’s 105 set them on their way. Steeton were then bowled out for 133 with Richard Spittlehouse taking 5-13.

Burley strengthened their position in fifth with a 104-run triumph over Ilkley. Jason Wright hit 78 off 78 balls to help the visitors on their way to 247-9.

An impressive bowling performance from Shane Etherington (4-24) limited Ilkley to 143 and give Burley a comfortable victory,

Collingham beat mid-table rivals Rawdon by 76 runs at home.

Collingham’s Sam Anderson hit 68 as they recorded 176 all out.

Andrew Doidge took six wickets for Rawdon, and Toby Jacklin also took six wickets for Collingham as they limited Rawdon to just 100.

North Leeds moved up to eighth with an 87-run victory over Guiseley, who remain 10th.

Adam Copley took five wickets for North Leeds as they sent back the opening three batsmen without a run on the board. Michael Stannard was the only player to reach double figures for Guiseley as they slumped to defeat.


OLIVER Hardaker’s century sent Horsforth top of Division Two as Colton dropped points on home turf, writes DAISY YOUNG.

Hardaker was deservedly given the ‘man of the match’ award after his 177 runs put Horsforth in the driving seat and set up an 111-run victory over Tong Park Esholt.

Horsforth got off to a poor start but Gareth Lee (68) and Hardaker led the hosts to 258-2 and their opponents could only manage 147 all out in return.

Former leaders Colton beat Ben Rhydding by six wickets.

Pool remain in third after their six-wicket triumph over Harden despite the best efforts of Harden’s Issac Murray (78) as they recorded 178-9. Pool then hit back with 200-4 thanks to John Goldthorp (59) and Jake Zsilinszky (49).

Skipton moved up to fourth after a 52 run victory over 10th-placed Thackley.

Chris Rowley’s century helped Adel on their way to a 46-run win over mid-table rivals Illingworth. Andy Laws also hit 75 as Adel recorded 218-7 and their the visitors could only return with 172 due to a six-wicket haul from Nick Smith.

Knaresborough recorded a one-wicket victory over bottom of the table Green Lane to move up to seventh.

In Division Three, Bilton Villas closed the gap on leaders New Rover to just three points after a three-wicket win over Alwoodley, whose Barry McCormick hit 127 but could not help his side as they slumped to a second consecutive defeat.

Oliver Whiteman’s century for New Rover means they still lead the division after an 84-run triumph over Addingham.