Central Yorkshire League: Methley aiming for Trophy treble

Saif Ur-Rehman of Birstall in action at Wrenthorpe.
Saif Ur-Rehman of Birstall in action at Wrenthorpe.
Have your say

METHLEY will aim to become the first side since Gomersal in 1993 to lift the Jack Hampshire Trophy for a third successive year when they host Wrenthorpe in Sunday’s final.

The decider features two of the competition’s most successful teams, with Methley winning five finals and Wrenthorpe four.

Methley, who beat Wrenthorpe in the 2010 and 2013 finals, are bidding to complete a league and cup double for the second successive season while their in-form opponents also have an outside chance of a double.

The teams meet twice this weekend with fourth-placed Wrenthorpe, who are 10 points adrift of leaders Methley, also visiting Little Church Lane on Saturday for a vital Premiership game. Darryl Hendricks has played a key role in Wrenthorpe’s recent excellent run.

The South African opener took his total to 878 league runs this season by smashing an unbeaten 83 off 65 balls in a 112-run stand with Greg Wood (70) in Saturday’s eight-wicket win against Birstall.

Hendricks leads the race to be the first to 1,000 Premiership runs this season, followed by Wakefield Thornes’ David Toft (737) and Townville’s Chris Holliday (704).

Toft (84no) put on 132 with Sam Storr (41) as Thornes boosted their chances of being crowned CYL champions for the first time by beating Townville by six wickets.

Sri Lankan Ravindra Palliyaguruge (4-49) and Faisal Irfan (2-37) limited Townville to 203-8 which included an unbeaten 63 by skipper Nick Bresnan and 50 from Holliday.

Saturday’s win lifted Thornes to second place, five points adrift of Methley, whose victory at lowly Buttershaw St Paul’s featured a 141-run partnership between youngster Harry Anderson (111) and Luke Patel (69).

Methley are trying to finalise a date for their Black Sheep Yorkshire Champions Trophy semi-final at York Senior League club Woodhouse Grange, who reached the National Village Cup final at Lord’s for the seventh time last Sunday.

The Woodhouse Grange-Methley winners face Yorkshire Academy in the final.

Ismail Patel’s unbeaten 111 was in a vain for Carlton as their slide continued with a 22-run defeat at Mirfield Parish Cavaliers whose scoring was led by Nazar Hussain (91), David Bolt (53) and James Hardcastle (44).

Michael Edwards (50) guided Ossett to a five-wicket win against Hunslet Nelson who were routed for 102 by Yorkshire all-rounder Richard Pyrah (5-35), Charles Orme (2-15) and Gurman Randhawa (2-18).

Gary Senior (58), Chris Scott (57), Neil Browne (4-37) and Ashley Mackereth (3-33) gave Championship leaders Hopton Mills the upper hand against Azaad.

Hopton are one point ahead of Liversedge who were indebted to Alan Sumner (67), Simon Kay (4-57) and Graeme Winn (3-33) as they ended East Ardsley’s four-match winning run.

East Leeds host Great Preston in a Division One top of the table clash in Saturday.