Bradford League: Congs claim T20 final triumph over arch rivals St Lawrence

Pudsey Congs captain Gareth Phillips receives the JCT600 Bradford League T20 trophy.
Pudsey Congs captain Gareth Phillips receives the JCT600 Bradford League T20 trophy.
Have your say

Pudsey Congs defeated arch rivals Pudsey St Lawrence in a thrilling Twenty20 Cup final at Tofts Road last Sunday.

A total of 1,138 runs were scored in the day and the large crowd were entertained with a staggering 51 sixes.

Hosts St Lawrence overcame Woodlands in a high-scoring first semi, while Congs defeated Hanging Heaton by four wickets to set up the Pudsey derby.

Cup holders Congs smashed 231-6 as Callum Geldart (45) and Adam Patel (88) set the tone with an opening wicket stand of 95.

Joe Greaves (59) further tormented the Lawrence bowlers as Congs closed on a formidable total of 231-6.

St Lawrence had earlier chased down a Woodlands score of 203-4 to win their semi with two balls to spare and made a fine attempt to chase down the Congs total.

Matthew Duce (80) and James Smith (51) shared a 104-run stand to give the Saints real hope.

Lawrence tried to keep up with the run rate after Duce and Smith were dismissed, but it proved too much as Congs were crowned T20 champions for a third time.

Woodlands made 203-4 in their semi against St Lawrence with Logan Weston (75) and Pieter Swanepoel (63no) leading the way but the home side produced a thrilling chase- Craig Wiseman hitting the winning six to see them home with two balls to spare.

Congs secured their final place with a four-wicket win over Hanging Heaton as Kez Ahmed took 4-24 to help dismiss the Tewits for 135 and they went on to seal a four-wicket win.

Eoin Morgan: Led England to victory but not into final.

England bow out of T20 series despite victory over New Zealand