Aire-Wharfe: Champions on track to repeat feat

Action from the Division 3 clash between Hall Park and Addingham.
Action from the Division 3 clash between Hall Park and Addingham.
Have your say

Otley took a huge step towards securing back-to-back Division One titles after they beat fellow challengers Beckwithshaw by four wickets to extend their lead at the top.

A century from Ben Morley and a half-century from Josh Atkinson sealed the victory for last year’s champions. Beckwithshaw batted first but were all out for 182 after Ricky Halloran took an impressive four wickets to put his side in control. Otley then responded brilliantly with Morley (112) and Atkinson (52) getting Otley of to a great start and on their way to 185-6.

Kirkstall bounced back from their defeat against title challengers Beckwithshaw by beating Bilton by six wickets to close the gap on the second-placed side. The hosts moved back up to third place, jumping above their opponents Bilton with this victory. Stephen Brown took four wickets as Kirkstall limited Bilton to just 190 all out. James Mason (65) and Andrew Siddall (43) made telling contributions for Otley as they romped to 194-4 to triumph.

Kirkstall captain Andrew Siddall was delighted to bounce back from last week’s defeat with the win over Bilton: “Last week was disappointing but Beckwithshaw played the better cricket, so we are really happy to bounce back against Bilton and get the win. James Watson was playing his first game for us and he managed to get 65 which we was really pleased with.”

And Siddall is excited by the open title race: “Otley or Beckwithshaw should win it. Otley are a good side but having played both teams in the past weeks, I believe Beckwithshaw are the stronger side. We are still up there and if we keep going and finish in the top four come the end of the season, we will be very happy.”

North Leeds moved up to seventh position after a 50-run success over Ilkley. Khan hit 102 as he helped his side to a total of 220-7, which Ilkley couldn’t come back from despite the best efforts of Adam Bailey (58).

Collingham extended their lead above opponents Steeton with a one-wicket triumph away from home. Toby Jacklin took six wickets for Collingham as they limited their opponents to just 128 all out. However Collingham got their innings off to a poor start, but Adam Wetherall steadied the ship with his 55 to give the visitors a narrow victory.

Bottom of the table Follifoot secured a seven-wicket success over Guiseley.

Alex Fox took four wickets as they limited Guiseley to 190-7 with Stuart Smith (41) and James Davey (48) being successful with the bat. However an unbeaten 80 from James Pickles saw Follifoot ease to victory with 191-3.

Rawdon eased to an 82-run victory over Burley to move into sixth position.


The division Two title race is wide open with up to four sides competing at the top, writes DAISY YOUNG.

Horsforth remain top after an 85-run success over sixth-placed Illingworth. Leon Harber (35) and Chris Gorden (41) got Horsforth off to a good start but they were then quickly skittled all out for 213. Andy Dixon hit 55 for Illingworth but that was as good as it got for the hosts as they were bowled all out for 128.

Rivals Colton kept up the pressure on Horsforth with a 51-run victory over bottom side Green Lane. Nick Thackray top scored for Colton with 56 as they recorded 204. Green Lane struggled as they attempted to score runs, but only Andy Lee (34) and Siraj Hussain (34) hit over 20 runs as they were all out for 153.

Skipton beat rivals Pool by 22 runs to jump above their opponents in the table. Skipton recorded 234-7 as they batted first, leaving Pool a huge task to get back into the match. Jake Zsilinsky made a telling contribution hitting 74 but it wasn’t enough as they were bowled all out for 212.

Fifth-placed Adel beat Thackley by four wickets after Ben Quirk’s 58 gave them the all important win. Thackley batted first and were all out for 170 but Quirk’s half a tonne allowed Adel to ease to victory.

Tong Park Esholt moved up to eighth after their five-wicket triumph over Knaresborough. Three wickets from Will Murray reduced Knaresborough to just 140 all out, before Esholt eased to 141-5 to give them the vital win.

Ben Rhydding moved away from bottom side Green Lane with a seven wicket win over Harden.